Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageReview: Goo Goo Dolls glorious on new EP 'You Should Be Happy' Special

By Markos Papadatos     Jun 12, 2017 in Music
Grammy-nominated group Goo Goo Dolls are back with their new EP "You Should be Happy," which was released on Warner Bros. Records.
It was recorded at EastWest studios in Los Angeles, and subsequently produced by Drew Pearson (who has worked with such diverse artists as OneRepublic and Katy Perry) who first collaborated with the Goo Goo Dolls on their previous studio album, Boxes.
The EP opens with the upbeat and rocking "Tattered Edge / You Should Be Happy," which instantly lures the listener in this new five-track collection of songs. It is followed by the mid-tempo single "Use Me," where Johnny Rzeznik's vocals are rich and haunting. He co-wrote the latter song with his producer, Drew Pearson.
Robby Takac sings lead on "30K Feet," which is an added treat. "Walk Away" is a masterpiece on acoustic guitar and Rzeznik's captivating voice. It closes with the Alex Aldi mix of "Boxes," which features soaring percussion.
The Verdict
Overall, Goo Goo Dolls stay true to their musical roots, and their distinct sound on their new You Should Be Happy EP. The band is still at the top of their game musically, in a music career that has spanned over three decades. This collection is well-crafted and it garners an A rating.
For more information on Goo Goo Dolls, their new EP and touring dates, check out their official website.
More about goo goo dolls, You Should Be Happy, Ep, Johnny, robby
Latest News
Top News