Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageReview: Cyndi Lauper takes the country 'Detour' on new album Special

By Markos Papadatos     Aug 11, 2016 in Music
Grammy winner and pop icon Cyndi Lauper is back with her newest album, "Detour," which is a country effort produced by Tony Brown.
It opens with the mid-tempo yet funky "Funnel Of Love" and it is followed by the traditional, piano-driven title track "Detour," which features glorious harmony vocals from Emmylou Harris. "Misty Blue" is another polished ballad on the collection. She pays homage to the late but great Patsy Cline with "Walkin' After Midnight." It is neat to hear her unique version of the Ray Price classic "Heartaches By The Number."
After "The End Of The World," Lauper collaborates with Country Music Hall of Famer Willie Nelson on "Night Life." One can sense the heartache on "Begging To You." She has a fun time on the sassy "You're The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly," which is a duet with Vince Gill.
Speaking of Patsy Cline, equally melancholic is her rendition of "I Fall To Pieces." Jewel was a natural fit to collaborate with Ms. Lauper on the Patsy Montana-penned "I Want To Be A Cowboy's Sweetheart," especially with her yodeling ability. It closes with "Hard Candy Christmas," her collaboration with Alison Krauss.
The Verdict
Overall, Cyndi Lauper's new album Detour garners four out of five stars. It has a retro country vibe to it, and it features an all-star cast of acclaimed country singers, who provide their velvet harmonies on this project.
To learn more about Cyndi Lauper's latest country album, visit her website.
More about Cyndi Lauper, Detour, Album, Country
Latest News
Top News