Op-Ed: Academy of Country Music Awards predictions — New Artist

Posted Mar 30, 2013 by Markos Papadatos
The 2013 Academy of Country Music (ACM) awards' "New Artist of the Year" category consists of three artists that have already won ACM awards for "New Male Artist of the Year," "New Female Artist of the Year" and "New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year."
Brantley Gilbert  Florida Georgia Line and Jana Kramer are nominated for the ACM honor for  New Arti...
Brantley Gilbert, Florida Georgia Line and Jana Kramer are nominated for the ACM honor for "New Artist of the Year."
Photo Courtesy of Justin Nolan Key
The three musicians that are in the running include Brantley Gilbert (who bested out Hunter Hayes and Lee Brice to be named "New Male Artist of the Year," Jana Kramer (who bested out Sunny Sweeney and Kacey Musgraves in the "New Female Artist of the Year" category, as well as Florida Georgia Line who were named "New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year" by the ACM over Thompson Square and Love and Theft.
Similar to the prestigious "Entertainer of the Year" category, this award is fan-voted and it is presented by Kohl's Department Stores.
This category is always difficult to call since fans have the final say and they pick the winner and all of the nominees are deserving since they had a great year in the country music scene. Most likely, it'll either be Brantley Gilbert or Florida Georgia Line. Based on stats alone, Brantley has a major advantage since he has over 1.4 million fans on his Facebook page and two of his singles "Country Must Be Country Wide" and "You Don't Know Her Like I Do" have been certified gold and they peaked at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot Country Songs Charts.
In the event that Brantley Gilbert and Jana Kramer split the votes (since they are an engaged couple in real life and voters may have difficulties picking one artist over the other), Florida Georgia Line may benefit for the win, especially since their songs "Cruise" and "Get Your Shine On" are still fresh in the minds of the voters.
The ACM awards will be co-hosted by Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton and they will be televised on April 7 on CBS. To cast your vote for the ACM "New Artist of the Year" award, visit the official ACM website.