Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter
Press Release

Seven Natural Wonders Declares N. America Seven with Mt. McKinley as Pinnacle Wonder

>PRWEB.COM Newswire

Las Colinas, TX (PRWEB) February 28, 2014

The Grand Canyon has historically been recognized as one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Now the canyon is honored to serve as an Ambassador to the newly declared Seven Natural Wonders of North America.

The Seven Natural Wonders of North America were declared this week in Irving, Texas with Mount McKinley being introduced first as a pinnacle wonder of nature. The remaining six natural wonders include: Yellowstone National Park, Yosemite National Park, the Everglades, Niagara Falls, Bay of Fundy, and the giant redwoods of California found in Sequoia National Park and Redwoods National Park.

The 7 Natural Wonders of North America were identified and voted on by scientists and conservation professionals from around the globe. The voting body consisted of experts on nature such as members of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and other leading organizations such as Disney Conservation and Conservation International. UNESCO President Francesco Bandarin had counseled Seven Natural Wonders to avoid public voting which is highly influenced by marketing, advertising, and social media.

California could easily be declared the big winner with two of the seven wonders calling the state home. The state is proud to showcase both Yosemite and the Redwoods. “California’s natural beauty and protected lands play a vital role in bringing visitors to our state,” said Caroline Beteta, President & CEO of Visit California. “We are thrilled that both Yosemite and the Redwoods have been selected for this honor.”

The Redwoods is actually a shared wonder between the sequoias of Sequoia National Park and the redwoods of Redwood National Park, providing California with three wonder destinations. These two redwood park areas collectively represent the tallest and largest trees in the world.

Yellowstone National Park can be proud to stand as the most recognized winner accounting for both the most votes and greatest amount of number one votes. Yellowstone Spokesman Al Nash said, “It is well known across the world that Yellowstone is a unique and amazing place.” Yellowstone was the first national park established in the world, and Nash added, “It has been said that the national park service idea is one of the United States greatest exports.”

The Canadian Tourism Board was excited to discover that Canada had two winners. Canadian Tourism Commission Interim President and CEO Greg Klassen noted, “Niagara Falls is one of the most awesome destinations in Canada simply because it is so iconic – the birthplace of Canadian tourism known around the world.” The other winner from Canada was the Bay of Fundy, which represents the world’s greatest tidal range. Klassen added, “The Bay of Fundy is truly one of the country’s most extraordinary natural wonders and a must-have experience visitors can enjoy in Atlantic Canada.”

The mission of Seven Natural Wonders is to promote and protect the natural wonders of the world. With the newly released winners for North America following the Africa winners from 2013, Dr. Phillip Imler, President of Seven Natural Wonders noted, “It is encouraging to see the list of world wonders expanding with such magnificent representation. It will be exciting to see who joins the list with future declarations.”

The only question now is which continent is next? Seven Natural Wonders is looking to hear from the public on their guess on who will or should be next? Will it be Asia, Europe, Oceania, or South America? Let your voice be heard at

For questions regarding the seven natural wonders of the world, please visit Seven Natural Wonders.


Read the full story at

Latest News
Top News