Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageWinners of 2016 U.S. presidential contests, by state

By AFP     Jun 7, 2016 in Politics

Here is a list of the US states and territories won by the main Republican and Democratic presidential candidates in the 2016 White House nomination contests held since February 1 ahead of today's contests in six states:


Fifty contests have been held to date, including the Puerto Rico primary on Sunday.

A total of 2,383 delegates are needed to secure the party's presidential nomination, including the so-called "superdelegates," who have the right to vote for whomever they choose at the nominating convention in July.

Former secretary of state Hillary Clinton has a commanding advantage over Senator Bernie Sanders on the superdelegate front.

Hillary Clinton (2,384 delegates)

Breakdown of delegates: 1,812 pledged after state races, plus 572 superdelegates

29 states and territories won:

Alabama; American Samoa; Arkansas; Arizona; Connecticut; Delaware, Florida; Georgia; Guam; Illinois; Iowa; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maryland; Massachusetts; Mississippi; Missouri; New York; Nevada; North Carolina; Northern Mariana Islands; Ohio; Pennsylvania; Puerto Rico; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Virginia; Virgin Islands.

Bernie Sanders (1,572 delegates)

Breakdown of delegates: 1,525 pledged after state races, plus 47 superdelegates

21 contests won:

Alaska; Colorado; Hawaii; Idaho; Indiana; Kansas; Maine; Michigan; Minnesota; Nebraska; New Hampshire; Oklahoma; Oregon; Rhode Island; Utah; Vermont; Washington; West Virginia; Wisconsin; Wyoming and the contest involving US Democrats living abroad.


The Grand Old Party has held 45 primary contests. Six states and territories -- American Samoa, Colorado, Guam, North Dakota, Virgin Islands and Wyoming -- selected their delegates without a primary preference vote, but through conventions or party meetings.

A total of 1,237 delegates are needed to secure the presidential nomination. The Republican Party does not use superdelegates, although a handful of "unbound" delegates head to the convention with the ability to vote for whomever they choose.

Donald Trump (1,238 delegates)

32 states and territories won:

Alabama; Arizona; Arkansas; Connecticut; Delaware; Florida; Georgia; Hawaii; Illinois; Indiana; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maryland; Massachusetts; Michigan; Mississippi; Missouri; Nebraska; Nevada; New Hampshire; New York; North Carolina; Northern Mariana Islands; Oregon; Pennsylvania; Rhode Island; South Carolina; Tennessee; Vermont; Virginia; Washington State; West Virginia.

Ted Cruz (Withdrew from the race, 563 delegates)

Nine states won:

Alaska; Idaho; Iowa; Kansas; Maine; Oklahoma; Texas; Utah; Wisconsin.

Cruz also won the delegate selections in Colorado and Wyoming.

John Kasich (Withdrew from the race, 161 delegates)

1 state won:


Marco Rubio (Withdrew from race, 167 delegates)

Three states and territories won:

Minnesota; Puerto Rico; Washington, DC

Source: CNN delegates tally

More about US, Vote, Winners
More news from
Latest News
Top News