Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageS.Lanka to field against India in World T20 final

By AFP     Apr 6, 2014 in World

Sri Lanka's stand-in captain Lasith Malinga won the toss in the World Twenty20 final in Dhaka on Sunday and sent India in to bat.

The start was delayed by 40 minutes due to rain, but will be played over the full duration of 20-overs-a-side at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium.

If Mahendra Singh Dhoni's Indians win, they will become the first team to hold all three major limited-overs titles, having won the 50-over World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy last year.

Sri Lanka will seek an end to an inexplicable losing streak in title matches, after being beaten twice in the World Cup finals in 2007 and 2011 and the World Twenty20 finals in 2009 and 2012.

Sri Lanka's T20 captain Dinesh Chandimal once again opted out of the game, as he had done in Thursday's semi-final against the West Indies, leaving Malinga to lead the Islanders.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma.

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (capt), Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath.

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

More about Cricket, t20, World, Ind, Sri
More news from
Latest News
Top News