Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Beach Boy Brian Wilson hits the road for ‘No Pier Pressure’ Tour

Rock icon Brian Wilson will hit the road this summer with his band, touring to more than 17 North American cities. Wilson will perform songs from his forthcoming Capitol album, No Pier Pressure, as well as top hits and fan favorites spanning his 50-year career with The Beach Boys and as a solo artist. Rodriguez, star of the Oscar-winning documentary Searching for Sugarman, will open the concerts with a special set. Brian will also be joined by former bandmates Al Jardine and Blondie Chaplin. On-sale details for all of the shows will soon be announced.

For his 11th solo studio album, No Pier Pressure, Wilson has returned to Capitol Records, his original label home with The Beach Boys. Wilson reunited with longtime collaborator Joe Thomas, and was joined at Hollywood’s Ocean Way Studios by talented musicians he personally invited to record with him, including his former Beach Boys bandmates Al Jardine, David Marks and Blondie Chaplin, as well as Kacey Musgraves, fun.’s Nate Ruess, She & Him’s Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward, Peter Hollens, Capital Cities’ Sebu Simonian, and trumpet master Mark Isham, as well as session all-stars Don Was, Jim Keltner, Dean Parks, and Kenny Aronoff. Members of Wilson’s longtime touring band, including Scott Bennett, Paul Mertens, Darian Sahanaja, and Probyn Gregory also participated in the sessions, along with Matt Jardine, son of Al Jardine, and former bandmate Jeffrey Foskett.

Brian Wilson

Brian Wilson

Wilson and Thomas began collaborating on the new songs during The Beach Boys’ whirlwind 50th anniversary activities throughout 2012, a banner year for the band which also included a GrammyAward win for Brian for The Beach Boys’ long-awaited SMiLE Sessions release. He told family, friends, and journalists around the world that he looked forward to returning to the studio when he got back home to California.

Always most inspired when creativity is given time and space to freely flow, Wilson initially envisioned the sessions for his new album with The Beach Boys in mind, but that was not to be. Wanting to find the right voices to complete his vision, Wilson saw an opportunity to finally become hip with his kids and recruited some amazing young vocalists who have been inspired by his music to do the job.

Camped out at Ocean Way, Wilson took a fluid, woodshedding approach to the recording process, deftly tailoring the vocal and instrumental parts and arrangements to each participant. Wilson worked to hone the arrangements, often assembling pieces from various takes, a signature style of recording he has enjoyed since his earliest recording sessions. In fact, several of the songs were written during the recording process.



Available now for preorder, the album will be released April 7 in standard 13-track and deluxe 16-track editions, each in CD and digital formats, as well as a 16-track 2LP edition on 180-gram vinyl. Brian Wilsom – No Pier Pressure (Deluxe Edition) [CD, digital] includes
1. “This Beautiful Day”
2. “Runaway Dancer” [featuring Sebu Simonian]
3. “What Ever Happened” [featuring Al Jardine and David Marks]
4. “On The Island” [featuring She & Him]
5. “Our Special Love” [featuring Peter Hollens]
6. “The Right Time” [featuring Al Jardine and David Marks]
7. “Guess You Had To Be There” [featuring Kacey Musgraves]
8. “Don’t Worry”
9. “Somewhere Quiet”
10. “I’m Feeling Sad”
11. “Tell Me Why” [featuring Al Jardine]
12. “Sail Away” [featuring Blondie Chaplin and Al Jardine]
13. “One Kind Of Love”
14. “Saturday Night” [featuring Nate Ruess]
15. “The Last Song”
16. “Half Moon Bay”

No Pier Pressure‘s digital preorder provides an instant download of its lead track, “The Right Time,” featuring vocals by Wilson and Al Jardine, and guitar by David Marks.

In theaters June 5, Roadside Attractions’ Brian Wilson biopic Love & Mercy presents an unconventional portrait of the music legend. Set against the era-defining catalog of the music, the film intimately examines the personal voyage and ultimate salvation of the icon whose success came at extraordinary personal cost. Directed by Bill Pohlad, starring John Cusack, Paul Dano, Elizabeth Banks and Paul Giamatti. Love & Mercy‘s U.S. film festival premiere is confirmed for March 15 at SXSW Film.

Brian Wilson is one of popular music’s most deeply revered figures, a legendary writer, producer, arranger and performer of some of the most cherished music in pop music history. For more than half a century, fans have marveled at the sheer beauty of the music that springs forth from his imagination into glorious song. Wilson brings this ingenious vision to his own compositions, as well as to those for which he has collaborated, weaving a lush, vibrant tapestry of intricately nuanced vocal harmonies and instrumental arrangements for himself, his bandmates and others.

Wilson began his career as a teenaged founding member of The Beach Boys, who signed with Capitol Records in July 1962 and released their first album, Surfin’ Safari, that same year. The band’s initial surf-rock focus was soon broadened to include other themes, and 1966’s Pet Sounds is universally hailed as one of the greatest albums of all time. Wilson’s innovative vocal and instrumental arrangements for major hits including “I Get Around,” “California Girls,” “Wouldn’t It Be Nice,” “God Only Knows,” and the No. 1 smash “Good Vibrations” made The Beach Boys America’s preeminent band of the 1960s.

Wilson has also achieved great solo success with 10 of his own albums released to date, including his acclaimed 2004 completion of an album he first began recording in the ’60s, Brian Wilson Presents… SMiLE. The album earned Wilson his first Grammy for a recording, which was followed by his second Grammy win for producing The Beach Boys’ acclaimed 2011 release, The SMiLE Sessions. With his own band, Wilson has performed major, sold-out SMiLE and Pet Sounds tours in recent years, and with The Beach Boys, he celebrated the iconic band’s 50th anniversary in 2012 with a major international tour and acclaimed studio album, That’s Why God Made The Radio.

Brian Wilson in concert

Brian Wilson in concert

Brian Wilson is a Kennedy Center Honors recipient, a Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee, and a U.K. Music Hall of Fame inductee. As a member of The Beach Boys, Wilson was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988 and honored with The Recording Academy’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2001.

18 – Saratoga, CA – The Mountain Winery
19 – San Diego, CA – Humphrey’s Concerts by the Bay
20 – Los Angeles, CA – The Greek Theatre
23 – Austin, TX – Frank Erwin Center
24 – Dallas, TX – Verizon Theatre at Grand Prairie
26 – Atlanta, GA – Fox Theatre
27 – Nashville, TN – Carl Black Chevy Woods Amphitheater
29 – Philadelphia, PA – The Mann Center for the Performing Arts
30 – Wantagh, NY – Nikon at Jones Beach Theater

1 – Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center
2 – Boston, MA – Blue Hills Bank Pavilion
4 – Toronto, ON – Sony Center (Brian Wilson and band only / Rodriguez will not appear)
5 – Detroit, MI – Fox Theatre
6 – Chicago, IL – Ravinia Festival
8 – Denver, CO – 1STBANK Center
10 – Las Vegas, NV – Chelsea Theater at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
12 – Seattle, WA – Benaroya Hall – S. Mark Taper Foundation Auditorium

Written By

You may also like:


US presidential hopeful Jill Stein described the assassination attempt of Donald Trump as 'tragic' and a symptom of a 'troubled system' in America -...

Tech & Science

AI and election interference: As we approach election season, we can expect more and more of this.


A police bomb squad car was seen driving towards the home of Thomas Matthew Crooks, the suspected shooter of former US president Donald Trump,...


Catherine, Princess of Wales, attended the Wimbledon Men's final in London on Sunday as she continues her cancer recovery.