Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Smart Communities Selection Committee Announces 12 Smart Communities Demonstration Projects

OTTAWA, Canada (DJC) – John MacDonald, Chair of the Smart Communities
Selection Committee today announced Canada’s 12 Smart Communities
Demonstration Projects. These communities will become world leaders in the
integration of information and communication technologies into community
life – in areas such as health care, education, training and business.
There will be one Smart Community from each province, one from the North and
one Aboriginal community.

“The overall quality of business plans made choosing among them difficult,”
said Mr. MacDonald. “I am confident that these demonstration projects have
enormous vision for the future that involves the use of information and
communication technologies, and will inspire innovation in other Canadian

The 12 Smart Communities were chosen from an original pool of 129
communities that submitted letters of intent. This number was reduced by
the Selection Committee to 46 communities which submitted comprehensive
business plans detailing the strategic, operational and financial aspects of
the proposed projects.

Experts from a range of fields made up the National Selection Committee,
which evaluated the letters of intent and business plans against selection
criteria in five strategic areas: community engagement, organization, smart
services, infrastructure and results. Each of the 12 selected Smart
Communities will enter into a contribution agreement process with Industry
Canada to provide up to $5 million per community in matching funding.

The $60 million Smart Communities program was announced in 1999 under the
Connecting Canadians initiative, which aims to make Canada the most
connected nation in the world.

Below is the listings of the 12 selected Smart Communities and the
members of the National Selection Committee. To obtain a copy of the
National Selection Committee Report, call 1-800-575-9200 or visit the web
site at


The Kuh-ke-nah Network Of Smart First Nations
(Keewaytinook Okimakanak)
Sioux Lookout, ON


Yellowknife Smart City Project: Partners In Change, A Northern Odyssey
(Yellowknife SMART Communities Society)
Yellowknife, Dettah, N’dilo, NWT


SMART CHOICES Project (Smart Choices Society of British Columbia)
Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam and Port Moody


Calgary InfoportTM Community Empowerment Project
(Calgary Research and Development Authority)


The Headwaters Project
(Keewatin Career Development Corporation)
Northern Saskatchewan including La Ronge


Manitoba Smart Network
(Manitoba Smart Network Inc)
Brandon, Neepawa, Souris, Carberry, Minnedosa


(Ottawa Centre for Research and Innovation)
Regional Municipality of Ottawa – Carleton


Le Carrefour Virtuel De La Mauricie
(Le Groupe Forces)
Shawinigan, Shawinigan-Sud, Grand-M?re


La Peninsule acadienne: Le village global francophone au coeur de la
cooporation internationale
(Concertation Rurale Centre-P?ninsule) P?ninsule acadienne: Baie de
Miramichi, Tracadie Sheila, Centre-P?ninsule, Lam?que-Shippagan-Miscou,


Western Valley Smart Community — Rural Innovation/Global Transformation
(Western Valley Development Authority)
Annapolis, Digby, Clare, Annapolis Royal, Bridgetown, Middleton


Virtual Charlottetown
(Charlottetown Area Development Corporation)
Charlottetown, Town of Cornwall, Town of Stratford


SmartLabrador: Technology On Top Of The World
(Labrador Information Technology Initiative)



Nicole Beaudoin, President and CEO, Quebec Business Women’s

France Bouchard-Michaud, Registered Nurse and Cosmetologist

Wade R. Cachagee, President, CREE-TECH Inc.

Kay Crinean, Executive Director, NovaKnowledge

Angeline Fournier, Associate Founder, FTTG Strategies

Debbie L. Good, Investment Advisor, Nesbitt Burns

Thomas P. Keenan, I.S.P. Dean and Professor, Faculty of Continuing
Education, University of Calgary

Erin M. Keough, Executive Director, Open Learning and Information

Frederick A. Lepine, Owner, Flying Colors Design

Anne Marie Lussier, Owner, Prairie Computers

Teresa MacNeil, Former Professor, St. Francis Xavier University

Glenn A. McInnes, Co-Founder and Vice President, Corporate
Development, Inc.

Deborah S. McLaren, Executive Director/Manager, Missouri Coteau
Development Corporation

Donna Mercier, Assistant Vice President (Yukon) and Chair of the
Board of Internal Management, Northwestel Inc.

Gerry Miller, Executive Director of Information Services and
Technology, University of Manitoba

Frederick Morash, Past President and CEO, Island Telecom Inc.

Nathan Nifco, Chairman and CEO, Technologies Inc.

Robert Noce, City Councillor, City of Edmonton

Peesee Pitsiulak, Principal, Nunavut Teacher Education Program,
Nunavut Arctic College

Jean-Bernard Robichaud, Rector, University of Moncton

Mark Schneider, Vancouver Bureau Chief, CTV News

Irene A Seiferling, Public Policy Consultant, Former President and
Chair, Consumers’ Association of Canada

Jean Watters, President, Laurentian University

You may also like:


‘Halloween Kills’ is the latest picture in the franchise featuring the masked killer continuing the decades-long battle with pure, unstoppable evil.


More than 6,500 people protested at the Trieste port on Friday against the introduction of the Covid "Green Pass" across Italy  - Copyright AFP...


A hypersonic missile launches from Hawaii last year as part of the US testing programme. The test missile flew at more than five times...


Tributes have been paid to David Amess, since he was stabbed to death on Friday - Copyright POOL/AFP/File Alexander ZemlianichenkoJoe JACKSONBritish lawmakers will on...