Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageThe USA meets Chile April 1 in World Polo Championship final

By Igor I. Solar     Apr 1, 2015 in Sports
Santiago - The U.S. and Chile advanced Tuesday to the World Polo Championship final to be played at Santiago de Chile. The Chilean and American teams will meet today (Wednesday) for the gold medal while England and Brazil will contest third place.
The U.S. reached the final by achieving victories over Argentina (11-10) and Brazil (9-7) in the group stage, and by defeating England (15-9) in the semi-final. Meanwhile, in a hotly contested match, Chile prevailed over Brazil 11-10 in the second semifinal, after beating England (10-9) and Pakistan (11-10) in the group phase.
The 2015 event is the tenth edition of the World Polo Championship. It takes place in Chile between March 27 and April 1 in the field of the San Cristobal Polo and Riding Club, in Santiago. The event was originally scheduled for March 24-29, but had to be postponed because the torrential rains that affected the Chilean capital, and much of the northern Chilean regions, during that period.
In this version, played under the rules of the International Polo Federation (FIP), the competition involves six national teams including the squads of Argentina and Chile (defending champion and tournament organizer, respectively), and the top four qualified teams by continent: England, winner of the European zone; Pakistan from the Asian region; United States, winner of the North America, Central America and the Caribbean zone; and Brazil, winner of the South American zone.
In the previous nine tournaments, Argentina has achieved the gold medal four times (1987, 1992, 1998, 2011); Brazil on three occasions (1995, 2001, 2004), while the United States and Chile have obtained the gold medal once, 1989 in Germany, and 2008 in Mexico, respectively.
Polo, also known as “The Sport of Kings,” is played by four-men teams and their horses on a huge field, the approximate area of nine American football fields. Semifinals and final games have six periods called chukkers lasting seven minutes.
More about Polo, FIP World Polo Championship, Sport of kings, Santiago de Chile, United States
More news from
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News