Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageINDYCAR: Power has 'great fun' winning in Milwaukee

By John Duarte     Aug 18, 2014 in Sports
WEST ALLIS, WI – Will Power was dominant on Sunday afternoon at the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 and was nearly three seconds ahead of his nearest competitor when the race came to a close.
For Power, the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 win was his first at Milwaukee, his first on a short oval and his first on any oval track since winning the last race of the 2013 season at Auto Club Speedway, in October.
“Oh, man! I love winning on ovals,” Power said of his victory at the famed Milwaukee Mile. “These are my favourite tracks these days. I really enjoy the ovals — it's great fun.”
Power led all but 21 laps in the race and, despite being the car too beat all day, he added that he “left some speed” on the Milwaukee Mile. Power's teammate Juan Pablo Montoya finished second in the race and Tony Kanaan was third.
Power driver has twice been the top driver on road courses in the series, but has not won the overall title. In 10 years of IndyCar racing, Power best ranking has come between 2010 and 2012, when he finished second all three years. Power said he is looking forward to the end of the 2014 season.
“It's a perfect way to start this three-race chase. If I have a couple more days like this, it's going to be a great finish,” he said. “We're going to keep our head down, don't think of the points and execute.”
You can hardly blame him from thinking that way. In 2010 and again in 2012, Power led the drivers' standings with three races to go, only to fall short on his quest for the IndyCar championship. He says that he feels differently this year and more up for the challenge.
“This is the first year that I can say to myself that I am a better all-around driver,” Power said. “I've been in this situation before. The difference is I don't have a weakness anymore.”
With two races to go, only six drivers have a legitimate chance of becoming the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series champion. A maximum of 50 points are available at each IndyCar race, however the final race of the season, the MAVTV 500, is worth double the points. Power leads the way with 602 points, with 150 points up for grabs. Helio Castroneves is 39 points back and Simon Pagenaud is 92 points behind the leader. Ryan Hunter-Reay, the 2012 champion, trails Power by 108 points. Montoya is next, in fifth place with 114 less points than the standings leader. Series defending champion Scott Dixon has a huge deficit to overcome if he is to retain his title. He currently sits sixth in the standings and 130 points behind Power.
“The ultimate goal is for Roger (Penske) to win one,” said Power. Penske owns three of the cars in the top six positions in the driver standings — Power, Castoneves and Montoya. “Just let too many getaway. Too many times second. We got to keep that in mind.”
A Penske driver has been runner-up in the title chase each of the last four seasons and in five of the last six.
It will be the ninth-consecutive year that the series will be decided and a champion crowned at the final race of the season.
The Verizon IndyCar Series wraps up its 2014 schedule with two races in California. Sonoma Raceway is the location for the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma, on Aug. 24, and the MAVTV 500 closes the IndyCar season at Auto Club Speedway with a night race on Aug. 30.
More about verizon indycar series, milwaukee mile, will power, Auto racing
More news from
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News