Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

Ancajas regains 4th world title for Phl after Nietes gave up belt

By Leo Reyes     Sep 4, 2016 in Sports
Filipino junior bantamweight challenger Jerwin Ancajas has dethroned IBF junior bantamweight champion McJoe Arroyo Saturday night at the Jurado Hall of the Philippine Marine Corps in Taguig City Philippines.
Despite being a challenger to the reigning titlist from Puerto Rico, Ancajas started off as the aggressor from the the opening round up to the final round.
Ancajas had scored heavily on his right hand jabs which almost always landed on their mark as Arroyo struggled to put up a good defense to block Ancajas jabs. Both fighters are southpaws but Ancajas had a upper had in using his right hand jabs.
Ancajas, who has lost only once in his pro career, scored a knockdown over Arroyo in the eighth round but Arroyo survived the round as he was saved by the bell.
All judges scorecards showed Ancajas ahead at 118-109 115-112 and 117-110 for a unanimous decision win. Arroyo's corner did not question the judges verdict.
Ancajas is now on his 12-fight winning streak since his lone loss to Mark Anthony Geraldo in 2012.
It was Arroyo's first loss in his pro career following his latest win over Ancajas compatriot Arthur Villanueva last year at the Don Haskins Convention Center, El Paso, Texas, USA.
The 30-year-old southpaw from Ceiba, Puerto Rico has not fought since winning the vacant IBF junior bantamweight belt in July last year. Read more:
With the win, Ancajas becomes the fourth Filipino reigning world boxing champion. It could have been fifth for the Philippines but another Filipino world champion Donnie Nietes gave up his flyweight belt as he moved to the next higher weight class.
The four Filipino reigning world champions include Nonito Donaire, Johnriel Casimero, Marlos Tapales and Jerwin Ancajas.
More about jerwin Ancajas, mcjoe arroyo, Boxing
More news from
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News