Review: Ex-Yellowcard frontman William Ryan Key refreshing on 'Virtue' EP Special

Posted Dec 2, 2018 by Markos Papadatos
On November 30, William Ryan Key, the former front-man and songwriter of the band Yellowcard, released his highly-anticipated new EP "Virtue."
William Ryan Key
William Ryan Key
Ryan Mendez
This new collection was released via The Lone Tree Recordings, and it is the follow-up to his critically-acclaimed Thirteen EP. It opens with the piano-driven "The Same Destination," which has a stirring vibe to it, that instantly lures the listener in his latest musical effort. It is followed by the melodically impressive "Mortar and Stone," where his vocals are smooth as silk.
"Downtown (Up North)" is an acoustic masterpiece, and it will certainly touch his listeners on an emotional level. The title track tune "Virtue" deals with a painful breakup, where Key is not afraid to be raw and vulnerable through his music. The EP closes on a fitting note with the haunting "No More, No Less."
Virtue by William Ryan Key is available on iTunes and on Spotify.
The Verdict
Overall, William Ryan Key delivers on his new project Virtue. It showcases his confidence and growth as a contemporary singer-songwriter. There is something in it for everybody, and there are no filler tracks on this EP. Virtue garners an A rating.
To learn more about William Ryan Key and his new EP, check out his official website.