Ontario Liberal leadership convention to be held in late January

Posted Oct 22, 2012 by Andrew Moran
One week after Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty announced that he was stepping down, the Liberal Party announced that it will hold its leadership convention at the end of January at a yet-to-be-determined location.
Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty speaking at Home Specialties during a media event in Toronto s Leasi...
Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty speaking at Home Specialties during a media event in Toronto's Leaside area.
The Liberal Party of Ontario stated Sunday in a news release that a leadership convention will take place on the weekend of Jan. 25, 2013. Ottawa Centre Member of Provincial Parliament and Ontario Liberal Party President Yasir Naqvi issued a set of rules that potential candidates must follow.
Candidates vying for the leadership must generate at least 250 signatures of party members, pay an entry fee of $50,000 in order to compete to replace McGuinty and actually be a member of the party before midnight on the same day.
Furthermore, leadership hopefuls must respect the $500,000 campaign spending limit and file all necessary documents by 5 p.m. on Nov. 23.
It is still unknown as to where the convention will be held. The party still also must establish delegate fees.
“Through these rules we are ensuring that we have a fair, transparent and robust Leadership process,” said Naqvi, who confirmed to the CBC News that he will not seek to become the premier of Ontario.
As of this week, no one has yet to announce their candidacy. The considered candidates include Housing Minister Kathleen Wynne, Health Minister Deb Matthews, Energy Minister Chris Bentley, Economic Minister Brad Duguid and Finance Minister Dwight Duncan. Other possibilities include former Health Minister and 2010 Toronto mayoral candidate George Smitherman and former Environment Minister John Wilkinson.
Digital Journal reported last week that the premier had recommended that ministers who are seeking the nomination should step down from their post to ensure accountability, responsibility and dedication.
The Ontario Premier has prorogued the legislature, which means MPPs will not be in session until after a Liberal leader is selected. This outraged the opposition Progressive Conservative leader Tim Hudak and New Democratic Party leader Andrea Horwath.