NASA Astronauts Vote From Space

Posted Oct 29, 2008 by Chris V. Thangham
It's time for everyone in the U.S. to vote; there are no excuses, not even if you're in space, says NASA astronauts. U.S. astronauts voted from the International Space Station, sending their ballots back electronically to election officials.
The International Space Station seen from space
The International Space Station as seen from space shuttle Discovery June 11, 2008. The European Space Agency’s Jules Verne Automated Transfer Vehicle is seen at the bottom of the image
Commander Michael Fincke and Flight Engineer and Science Officer Greg Chamitoff, who are at the International Space Station, were very happy after casting their votes from space.
This was made possible after Texas legislators passed a rule in 1997 allowing astronauts in space to cast their votes.
The astronauts’ local county clerks offices sent secured ballots via Mission Control at Johnson Space Center in Houston to the International Space Station. The astronauts then accessed their ballots independently and securely. They filled their votes and sent them back to Earth.
After voting they urged their fellow Americans to do the same, and vote in this U.S. election.
In 2004, Leroy Chiao cast his ballot from the space station, and others like Bill Shepherd (the first commander of the International Space Station) voted absentee in 2000. The first person to vote in space was Dave Wolf during his four-month MIR mission in 1997.
In the video above, you'll see the astronauts were so happy after voting they do a back flip.