Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter
Press Release

Entertainment Industries Council Announces Honorees for 4th Annual Science, Engineering & Technology SET Awards

>PRWEB.COM Newswire
>PRWEB.COM NewswireLos Angeles, CA (PRWEB) November 05, 2014

Films Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Transcedence and television shows Bones, The Big Bang Theory and Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. are among the productions to be honored at the 4th Annual SET Awards on November 12, 2014 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, CA. The SET Awards, which are produced by the Entertainment Industries Council (EIC), recognize the power and influence of entertainment, digital and news media to engage young minds and encourage interest in science, engineering, technology and math. This year's SET Awards collaborators include Lockheed Martin, Google, Rolls-Royce aero engines, K'NEX and Studio 229, who are all engaging in The Art of Making a Difference (TM), bringing attention to the fields of science, engineering, and technology.

"Movies, videos and multimedia content with technological, scientific and even design storylines are magnets for youth that can launch them into technical careers, filling existing workforce gaps and creating the innovation necessary to propel not only the entertainment industry, but also other industries and our nation into a bright future," said Brian Dyak, President and CEO of EIC. "Creators spark imagination and dreams that, through ingenuity, can become the realities of tomorrow. The entertainment industry leaders being honored this year know how to entertain and inspire our future."

TV Comedy honors will go to the seventh season of The Big Bang Theory (CBS) and the first season of Silicon Valley (HBO). Season 12 of Mythbusters (Discovery Channel), Life According to Sam (HBO), and Season 3 of Brain Games (National Geographic) will be honored for Documentary. The Sunny Side Up Show (Sprout) will be honored for Children's Program. Online Program honors will go to Science of Golf (NBC Learn).

Feature Films being recognized are Captain America: The Winter Soldier (Marvel Studios), Her (Warner Bros. Pictures), and Transcendence (Warner Bros. Pictures). In Drama Series, an episode of Bones (FOX) and the third season of Person of Interest (CBS) will be honored. The Normal Heart (HBO) will be awarded for TV Movie or Miniseries.

Also being presented are special Legacy and Leadership & Inspiration awards in the disciplines of science, engineering and technology for portraying these fields in encouraging and positive ways. Director Brad Bird (Tomorrowland) will receive the Bob Gurr Leadership & Inspiration Award for his continued efforts to engage audiences in these fields through his films, which also include The Incredibles and Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol. Songwriter and philanthropist Will.I.Am will receive the SET Leadership & Inspiration Award for his work to engage students in science, engineering and technology fields and for his ability to engage their educational and creative sides through music that emphasizes and utilizes "STEM" concepts. Walter Mirsch, executive producer of the classic film The Great Escape will receive the Legacy Award. The first season of Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC) will receive the SET Scientist Award and SET Engineer Award, along with the show's actors who play the roles of Jemma Simmons and Leo Fitz – Elizabeth Henstridge and Iain De Caestecker. The first season of Halt and Catch Fire (AMC) will receive the SET Technologist Award.

Included on the SET Awards Honorary Committee are Emiliano Calemzuk (Time Inc.), Robert DiBitetto (A&E), Stephen Friedman (MTV) , Mark Graboff, Ted Harbert (NBC), Laura Michalchyshyn, Deborah Myers (Science), Dawn Ostroff (Conde Nast), Mark Pedowitz (The CW), Kevin Reilly (TNT/TBS), Sheri Salata (OWN), Nina Tassler (CBS), Jeff Wachtel (NBC Universal), Vivi Zigler (Shine 360 and Digital), Tom Calderone (VH1), Erik Logan (OWN), Chris McCumber (USA), Steve Koonin (Atlanta Hawks), Mitch Bainwol (RIAA), Neal Tiles, Herman Rush, Steve Schiffman, David Goldsmith, Stan Lee (POW! Entertainment) and Michael Wright (DreamWorks).

EIC is a non-profit organization founded in 1983 by leaders within the entertainment industry to bring the power and influence of the industry to communicate about health and social issues. The organization is considered to be the chief pioneer of entertainment and journalism outreach and a premiere success story in the field of entertainment education. This mission relies on providing resource information to the creative community and culminates in recognition of the industry through the national television special PRISM Showcase which addresses accurate portrayals of substance use issues and mental health concerns. The organization also produces the SET Awards, honoring positive and non-stereotypical portrayals of science, engineering and technology.

For a complete list of health and social issues addressed by EIC and local projects please visit First Draft and EIC's website at or the internet television network at The PRISM Awards web site is The SET Awards web site is
# # #

Media Contact:
Larry Deutchman, 818-840-2016, ldeutch(at)eiconline(dot)org
Skylar Jackson, 703-481-1414, sjackson(at)eiconline(dot)org

Read the full story at

Latest News
Top News