Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageSeven make final cut as world's most wondrous cities

By Mark J. Allan     Dec 8, 2014 in World
Surviving three years of global voting and competition from almost 1,200 other candidates, seven communities were announced Sunday as New7Wonders Cities.
From a whopping 1,200 candidates in 220 countries, global voting has identified seven cities as modern wonders of the world.
In alphabetical order, they are: Beirut (Lebanon), Doha (Qatar), Durban (South Africa), Havana (Cuba), Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia), La Paz (Bolivia) and Vigan (Philippines).
"I would like to thank everyone who has helped promote the New7Wonders Cities campaign since its inception in 2011," said Bernard Weber, founder-president of New7Wonders.
“We began with more than 1,200 nominees from 220 different countries and here have seven cities that represent the global diversity of urban society, Weber continued in a press release issued in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.
“For the first time in human history, more than half of our planet's population lives in cities and this election emphasizes the dramatically challenging character of our changing world," stated the Swiss-born Canadian filmmaker, author and adventurer.
In the final round of voting, 14 cities scattered throughout the six inhabited continents were cut in half. The seven final cities to be eliminated were, in alphabetical order: Barcelona, Spain; Chicago, United States; London, United Kingdom; Mexico City, Mexico; Perth, Australia; Quito, Ecuador; and Reykjavik, Iceland.
Weber thanked the New7Wonders Cities Panel of Experts, which advised about the selection of the 28 official finalist candidates last year.
The results will be checked, validated and independently verified. Once that process is complete, New7Wonders will work with confirmed cities to organize official inauguration events. "We congratulate each of these cities on achieving their New7Wonders status, and we look forward to celebrating their election to the ‘canon of 7’ with their citizens in 2015," said Weber.
The New7Wonders Cites will join the New7Wonders of Nature and the New7Wonders of the World in becoming part of global memory for humanity forever."
Swiss-based New7Wonders is inspired by the seven wonders of the ancient world (Pyramids of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Statue of Zeus, Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes, and Lighthouse of Alexandria).
New7Wonders is dedicated to creating "global memory" by leveraging the networked power of communications technologies and social media. It is meant to contribute to the protection of the world’s human-built and natural heritage and to foster respect for our planet’s diversity.
New7Wonders is funded entirely by licensing and commercial partnerships with companies, TV rightsholders, event organizers, and through interactive revenue shares. New7Wonders does not draw any funds from public, government or taxpayer subsidies.
In fact, New7Wonders says it has so far generated more than US$5 billion worth of economic, tourism and national promotional value for locations participating in its campaigns.
More about New7wonders, Cities, final seven
More news from Show all 15
Latest News
Top News