Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageGmail will now let you 'Undo Send' to fix mistakes

By Michael Thomas     Jun 23, 2015 in Internet
After six years of beta testing, Gmail has finally made official its Undo Send feature, which allows users to delay sending emails for up to 30 seconds to fix any mistakes.
If you've ever sent an email and immediately realized you forgot to attach something, left out information or made an embarrassing typo, Google has some good news for you. On Tuesday it announced its Undo Send feature has officially ended its public beta and is now available for all users.
Undo Send only gives you less than a minute to either edit or delete your email, so if you penned an emotional letter to your ex and regret it two hours later, don't look to this feature as a saviour. Instead, users can choose, Mashable reports, to delay sending emails for five, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.
Those who tested it in its public beta run will have Undo Send automatically enabled for them. For those who'd like it now, it can be activated via Settings in the General tab.
Mobile Gmail users unfortunately aren't getting the Undo Send option yet, however Google said it's working on implementing it there eventually. There's currently no timeline on when it will be ready.
Gizmodo points out that Google has been offering this for six years in its beta testing phase. While it may seem like a long time, lengthy beta periods are fairly normal for Google products — after all, Gmail itself was in beta from 2004 to 2009.
Undo Send was reportedly one of the most popular ideas in Google Labs, the testing ground for future Google services.
More about undo send, Gmail, Email