Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

Review: Brett Young charms on self-titled new studio album Special

By Markos Papadatos     Feb 10, 2017 in Music
Rising country sensation Brett Young has released his highly-anticipated self-titled new album, and it is a charming effort.
It opens with his chart-topping and infectious lead single "Sleep Without You," and it is followed by the mid-tempo love song "Close Enough."
"Like I Loved You" is a well-crafted ballad that should be released as a single at some point in the future. It immediately breaks into his sophomore radio single "In Case You Didn't Know" and yet another noteworthy ballad "Olivia Mae."
He picks up the pace with the upbeat "Left Side Of Leavin'" and there is some nostalgia on "You Ain't Here To Kiss Me." "Back On The Wagon" is the highlight track on this project, which is worthy of the repeat button.
After the laid-back and nonchalant "Makin' Me Say," it is followed by the mid-tempo "Memory Won't Let Me." The album closes on an optimistic note with "Beautiful Believer" and with the piano-driven ballad "Mercy."
The Verdict
Overall, Brett Young charms on his brand new eponymous studio album. Young's voice is as smooth as silk, and this CD is extremely diverse, where no two songs have the same identities. His song "Back On The Wagon" is worth the price of the album alone. Young's new collection garners an A rating.
To learn more about Brett Young and his new album, visit his homepage.
More about Brett Young, Album, Country
Latest News
Top News