Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

Oscar dates announced for 2014 and 2015

blog:20884:0::0
By Tim O'Brien
Posted Mar 25, 2013 in Entertainment
It may seem like the dust has just settled on the 2013 Oscars, but it truly goes on all year. With that noted, The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that next year's Oscar Sunday will be March 2, 2014.
The March date is due to the winter Olympics and Oscar knows something about scheduling. They used to be held in March but often butted up against the final of the NCAA basketball tournament.
However, the move to February was noted as streamlining the movie award season and getting in line with others. But, the Oscars are the king and that means they need to be after all the others, mainly The Golden Globes and The Screen Actors Guild Awards.
The Independent Spirit Awards are usually held the night before, so wait and see if that changes as well.
They went ahead and announced that Oscar Sunday will be Feb. 22, 2015.
So, here are the key dates, announced today (March 25).
Saturday, November 16, 2013: The Governors Awards
Monday, December 2, 2013: Official Screen Credits due
Friday, Dec. 27, 2013: Nominations voting begins
Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014: Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014: Oscar nominations announced
Monday, Feb. 10, 2014: Nominees Luncheon
Friday, Feb. 14, 2014: Final voting begins
Saturday, Feb. 15, 2014: Scientific and Technical Awards
Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2014: Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Oscar Sunday, March 2, 2014: 86th Academy Awards
Oscar Sunday, Feb. 22, 2015: 87th Academy Awards
The 86th and 87th Academy Awards ceremonies will be held at the Dolby Theatreā„¢ at Hollywood & Highland CenterĀ® in Hollywood. They will air on ABC.

blog:20884:0::0
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News