Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

Caetano Veloso and David Byrne, live album

By Tim Sandle
Posted Mar 26, 2012 in Entertainment
A good album released this month is actually a 2004 live recording: "Caetano Veloso and David Byrne – Live at Carnegie Hall".
Caetano Veloso‘s performance with David Byrne on the new album, Live at Carnegie Hall, is a mindblowing collaboration. The album is presented as three acts: two solo performances, followed by a collaboration between the two distinguished artists.
Veloso opens the album with a set of songs. Of these, “Coração Vagabundo” stands out with its haunting guitar and violin tag at the end of the chorus.
Byrne then follows , including his Latin-influenced “God’s Child”. His set also included an acoustic version of “Life During Wartime”, which works quite well, as does the staccato guitar arrangement on “Road To Nowhere”.
The collaborative songs are a joy, especially "Dreamworld: Marco de Canaveses”, which has a cool, bossa nova rhythm.
Worth checking out. The track list is:
01 – Desde Que O Samba E Samba
02 – Voce E Linda
03 – Sampa
04 – O Leaozinho
05 – Coracao Vagabundo
06 – Manhata
07 – The Revolution
08 – Everyone’s In Love With You
09 – And She Was
10 – She Only Sleeps
11 – Life During Wartime
12 – God’s Child
13 – Road to Nowhere
14 – Dreamworld Marco De Canaveses
15 – Um Canto De Afoxe Para O Bloco De Ile
16 – (Nothing But) Flowers
17 – Terra
18 – Heaven
It is released on the Nonesuch label.

Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News