Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter
Connect your Digital Journal account with Facebook or Twitter to use this feature.
Blog Posted in avatar   Tim O'Brien's Blog

Tim's Topics - SAG Nominees Announced

blog:14351:0::0
By Tim O'Brien
Posted Dec 14, 2011 in Entertainment
Tim's Take ...
...emptying the in-box
... Screen Actors Guild Awards® announced their nominations early this morning (Dec. 14) and one has to wonder if others are going through award fatigue already? To a certain extent, I am, but I will get my second wind when the shows start up in January.
... it's much like the bowl season when so many are thrown at us, we must stop and focus on a handful.
.. BEST PICTURE: "The Artist," "Bridesmaids," "The Descendants," "The Help," and "Midnight in Paris." All these pics are in my top list sans "Bridesmaids," but I am glad it is here. This bodes well for a best picture nomination come Oscar time, too.
... The SAGs have a stunt category. This is one category the Oscars do not have but actors have been lobbying for years to get.
... In the actor category, Brad Pitt gets in for "Moneyball" and not "Tree of Life."
... Glenn Close gets in for "Albert Nobbs" and that will set up the showdown between her and Meryl Streep, which may leave the door open to Michelle Williams, also a nominee. Just as I noted in an earlier story here on Digital Journal. And yes, Tilda Swinton is here as well.
... in the supporting actor category another surprise with Jonah Hill in "Moneyball."
... and yes indeed goes to Melissa McCarthy for "Bridesmaids" as she gets in for supporting actress.
... One award you might not hear about is this one. Dick Van Dyke will present the Screen Actors Guild’s 48th Life Achievement Award to Mary Tyler Moore. This was announced by Screen Actors Guild Awards®, executive producer and director Jeff Margolis.
...The SAG Awards® will be held Sunday, Jan. 29, 2012, at 8 p.m. (ET), 7 p.m. (CT), 6 p.m. (MT) and 5 p.m. (PT) from the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles. The ceremony was also aired internationally.
... Oh, the Critics Choice nominations were handed out as well this week. The top movies are:"The Artist," "The Descendants," "Drive," "Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close," "The Help," "Hugo," "Midnight in Paris," "Moneyball," "The Tree of Life" and "War Horse"

blog:14351:0::0
More about SAG, Movies, Opinion, Awards
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News

Corporate

Help & Support

News Links

copyright © 2014 digitaljournal.com   |   powered by dell servers