Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article image'12 Years a Slave' leads Independent Spirit nominations

By Tim O'Brien     Nov 26, 2013 in Entertainment
The powerful slave drama "12 Years a Slave" leads all films as the Independent Spirit Award were announced today (Nov. 26). The film nabbed seven nominations.
Lately, the awards often mirror the Oscar nominations and from the looks of this list, that should hold true this year as well. These are independent films, so the likes of "Captain Phillips," "August: Osage County" and "American Hustle" will not be here. But, "12 Years a Slave" is and that is seen as a favorite to win best picture right now. Of course, that could all change as the season goes forward.
Started in 1984, these awards honor the independent nature of the filmmaking process. They are often the films that get those limited releases, and then go wide. How wide they go often depends on the box office and the award season buzz. The films can also shine during the film festival circuit. Here, the story and the performances usually outshine the effects and production.
Big names are laced throughout as well. In the actor category, Bruce Dern goes against Robert Redford. James Gandolfini gets a nod for supporting actor, while Woody Allen is here for screenplay but not for director for "Blue Jasmine."
The feature films include a black and white film in "Nebraska" and a film where there is almost no dialogue in "All Is Lost." if one wants to go with a gut feeling, this may be a career award winning season for Redford, the star of "All is Lost."
Best Feature
“12 Years a Slave”
“All Is Lost”
“Frances Ha”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”
Best Director
Shane Carruth, “Upstream Color”
J.C. Chandor, “All is Lost”
Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave”
Jeff Nichols, “Mud”
Alexander Payne, “Nebraska”
Best Screenplay
Woody Allen, “Blue Jasmine”
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater, “Before Midnight”
Nicole Holofcener, “Enough Said”
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, “The Spectacular Now”
John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave”
Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”
Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight”
Gaby Hoffman, “Crystal Fairy”
Brie Larson, “Short Term 12″
Shailene Woodley, “The Spectacular Now”
Best Male Lead
Bruce Dern, “Nebraska”
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”
Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Michael B. Jordan, “Fruitvale Station”
Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”
Robert Redford, “All Is Lost”
Best Supporting Female
Melonie Diaz, “Fruitvale Station”
Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine”
Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”
Yolonda Ross, “Go for Sisters”
June Squibb, “Nebraska”
Best Supporting Male
Michael Fassbender, “12 Years a Slave”
Will Forte, “Nebraska”
James Gandolfini, “Enough Said”
Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”
Keith Stanfield, “Short Term 12”
Best Documentary
“20 Feet From Stardom”
“After Tiller”
“Gideon’s Army”
“The Act of Killing”
“The Square”
Best International Film
“A Touch of Sin”
“Blue Is the Warmest Color”
“The Great Beauty”
“The Hunt”
John Cassavetes Award
“Computer Chess”
“Crystal Fairy”
“Museum Hours”
“Pit Stop”
“This Is Martin Bonner”
Best First Feature
“Blue Caprice”
“Fruitvale Station”
“Una Noche”
Best First Screenplay
“In a World,” Lake Bell
“Don Jon,” Joseph Gordon-Levitt
“Nebraska,” Bob Nelson
“Afternoon Delight,” Jill Soloway
“The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Peete,” Michael Starrbury
Robert Altman Award (given to a film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast)
More about Hollywood, Film, Films, Movies, Movie
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News