Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageWorld Player of the Year shortlist announced

By Daryl Hammond     Oct 29, 2013 in Sports
The 23-man shortlist for the annual Ballon D’or has been revealed, and features the likes of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Frank Ribery and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.
Messi will be looking for his fifth Ballon D’or in a row, but will face stiff competition.
Barcelona newcomer Neymar also features on a list that only includes Europe-based players.
Joining that list includes the world most expensive player Gareth Bale as the only British player.
Representatives of the Premier League are Luis Suarez, Mesut Ozil, Eden Hazard, Yaya Toure and Robin Van Persie.
Champions League winners Bayern Munich have six players featured on the list, with five German players also on the list.
Nominees for the Coach of the Year include Confederation Cup winner Luiz Felipe Scolari with Brazil earlier this year, as well as retired duo Sir Alex Ferguson and Jupp Heynckes.
Surprising inclusions include Arsene Wenger and Jose Mourinho, who are yet to taste success in 2013, with Wenger in particular trophy-less since 2004.
It also raises the question as to why Africa Cup of Nations 2013 winner Stephen Kwesi has been omitted from the list.
The ceremony announcing the winner of the Ballon D’or will be announced on January 13 in Zurich.
The full 23-man shortlist can be seen here, whilst the Manager of the year shortlist can be seen here.
More about Football, world player of the year, Lionel messi, Frank Ribery, Cristiano ronaldo
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News