Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageNASA: New space station crew members to launch September 25

By Mike White     Sep 24, 2013 in Science
NASA Television has announced it will provide live extensive coverage of the launch of three crew members of Expedition 37-38 tomorrow as they travel to the International Space Station. The launch will be from Kazakhstan tomorrow.
NASA announced the launch in a press release.
The crew will include Michael Hopkins of NASA, Sergey Ryazanskiy and Oleg Kotov of the Russian Space Agency. The crew will depart from the Baikonur Comsodrome tomorrow at 4:58 a.m. EST on board a Soyuz spacecraft. NASA will begin coverage at 4 a.m.
Kotov will command the spaceship. Hopkins and Ryazanskiy will act as engineers. The rendezvous with the space station will occur after four orbits of earth. The space ship will dock with the Poisk module on the Russian side of the space station at 10:47 p.m. NASA will begin coverage of that event at 10 p.m.
According to Yahoo, hatches between the space station and the Soyuz will open on September 26 at 12:25 a.m. The three crew members who are leaving tomorrow will then be greeted by Expedition 37 Commander Fyodor Yurchikhin of Roscosmos, Flight Engineers Karen Nyberg of NASA and Luca Parmitano of the European Space Agency.
The three leaving tomorrow will remain aboard the space agency until mid-March. The other three will return in November. That will leave Kotov as Commander of Expedition 38.
For those interested in more information about what being aboard the space station is like, NASA offers printed information and links to videos at this site.
More about NASA, Announces, new space station crew members, Launch, Tomorrow
Latest News
Top News