Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageINDYCAR: Power wins race, three crew members injured in pits

By John Duarte     Aug 26, 2013 in Sports
Sonoma - Will Power won the IZOD IndyCar Series race in California on Sunday, but his victory was overshadowed by a pit-lane incident that sent three members of his pit crew for medical treatment.
The incident happened during pit stops on Lap 64 of the GoPro Grand Prix at Sonoma Raceway, when then race leader Scott Dixon and second-place Power entered pit lane for routine service. Power's pit was directly in front of Dixon's and as the latter exited to rejoin the race he clipped a tire being carried by one of Power's crew. This set off a chain of events that saw that crewman fall against a second, which sent the air gun used to change tires into a third. All three workers were treated at the infield medical centre and released.
After deliberation and reviewing video of the incident, IndyCar officials handed Dixon a drive-through penalty, which cost him valuable points in the championship standings. Dixon, who could have won for the fourth time in the last five races, was not impressed with the “tactics” of Power's crew.
“We had a strong car all day,” Dixon said. “I had a straight line and he walked into us. Pretty annoyed with that. It was probably the most blatant thing I've seen in a long time.”
He added, “That was a bit of a (classless) move, to be honest. If that's the way they want to try and win, that's pretty bad.”
Power said he understood Dixon's frustration, as he is the only current IndyCar winner with multiple victories at the California racetrack. Power also dismissed Dixon's statement that there was any sort of “gamesmanship” leading to his first win in 15 months.
“It's not even worth commenting on.” When asked if the move by his crew member was intentional, Power said, “I haven't seen it. I would be very surprised.”
Power became the 10th different winner in 15 races this IZOD IndyCar season. The series' record for number of different winners is 11. The win, the 19th of Power's career, was also his first since April 2012. It couldn't have come at a better time. He admitted “I learned a lot about myself” during the winless streak.
“It's great for our confidence. We're back to our winnings ways,” Power said. “When you have a touch year, you really start searching, looking. You pick up things. Really feels like next year, I'll come back a more complete driver.”
Justin Wilson finished the GoPro Grand Prix in second place, over one second behind the race winner, and pole-sitter Dario Franchitti, who is still looking for his first win in 2013, was third.
Helio Castroneves leads the IndyCar drivers' standings with 479 points, 39 points up on Dixon in second, with defending series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay with 417 points, in third place. Drivers earn a maximum 54 points per race.
The IZOD IndyCar Series returns to the east coast of the United States with the Grand Prix of Baltimore, on a temporary street circuit in the Maryland city on Sept. 1, 2013.
More about IZOD Indycar series, will power, Scott Dixon, Justin Wilson, Dario Franchitti
More news from
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News