Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageIndyCar: Kanaan gives his ‘all or nothing’ to win the Indy 500

By John Duarte     May 26, 2013 in Sports
Indianapolis - It has taken him 12 tries, but Tony Kanaan is now an Indianapolis 500 champion after winning the fabled car race on Sunday.
The Brazilian driver, who was known for not winning The Greatest Spectacle in Racing, smiled from Victory Lane saying he can now be known for winning the 97th-running of the fabled Indianapolis 500.
“This is it, man. I made it,” said Kanaan after slipping the winner’s wreath around his neck and taking the customary drink of milk after winning the 500-mile race. “This is incredible. I am speechless.”
Kanaan had to keep his emotions in check during the closing laps of the race. He passed Ryan Hunter-Reay shortly after a caution period needed when Graham Rahal lost control of his car and hit the wall separating the track from pit lane. Kanaan, and eventual runner-up Carlos Munoz, passed Hunter-Reay, while behind them Dario Franchitti smashed into the wall in Turn 1. With only three laps of racing left, Kanaan knew the event would end under yellow-flag conditions and he could add “Indianapolis 500 Champion” to his race resume. That didn’t make the remaining 7.5 miles any easier.
“The last lap was the longest lap of my life,” remarked Kanaan, who during the second-to-last caution period told crew members on his race radio, “It’s all or nothing. We’re giving it all we got.”
This year’s Indianapolis 500 was one for the record books. There were a total of 14 different drivers led at least one lap and there were a total of 68 lead changes. The previous record was 34 lead changes, set during last year’s race. The average speed of the race was 187.433 miles per hour, which was 1.452 miles per hour faster than the 185.981 mph set in 1990. Ed Carpenter led the first lap of the 2013 Indianapolis 500.
An interesting footnote to the race was the fact that Andretti Autosport, which had fielded five cars, finished second (Munoz), third (Hunter-Reay) and fourth (Marco Andretti).
Andretti climbs into the lead of the IZOD IndyCar Series. He has an 11-point lead on Takuma Sato. Helio Castroneves sits third, 16 points behind series leader.
The IZOD IndyCar schedule resumes in Detroit (Michigan), where the first of three “doubleheader” weekend races takes place on June 1 and 2. Other weekends featuring two IndyCar races will run in Toronto (Ontario) on July 13 and 14 and in Houston (Texas) on Oct. 5 and 6.
More about indycar series, Indianapolis 500, tony kanaan, carlos munoz, Ryan HunterReay
More news from
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News