Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageEurovision 2013: Latvia and PeR miss out on Final

By Mathew Wace Peck     May 18, 2013 in Entertainment
Latvian boy band PeR will have to watch from the sidelines this evening when twenty-six countries compete in the Eurovision Song Contest 2013 Final.
On Thursday, the boys were the first act to be drawn to compete in the ESC Second Semi-Final but, despite high hopes, failed to qualify for a place in tonight’s final.
Edmunds and Ralph, a.k.a. PeR, hold a long-time ambition to represent their country in the contest – now in its 58th year – having attempted several times to compete in the event. Prior to the this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, the two lads reached the Latvian-heat finals in 2009, 2010 and 2012.
Please explain the Rhythm
PeR stands for “Please explain the Rhythm”. According to Eurovision TV, the Latvian beatbox and vocal band was formed in 2007, since when, “PeR have performed in all of the biggest Latvian TV shows”.
In 2011, their single “Go Get Up” peaked at No. 2 in the Top 100 music chart in Denmark, where they also won awards for “Best New Artists” and “Best European Alternative Video”.
At the end of 2012, PeR released their debut album, PeR, which has been nominated as the “Album of the Year” in Latvia.
The 26 countries that will be competing in tonight's Eurovision Song Contest 2013 are made up of Sweden – who automatically qualified, having won in 2012 – the ten countries who won through from Tuesday’s First Semi-Final, ten further qualifiers from Thursday’s Second Semi-Final, and the Big Five – France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom – who, as the countries responsible for funding the event, automatically have a place in the final.
In order of performance, tonight:
1. France: Amadine Bourgeois – “L’enfer et moi”
2. Lithuania: Andrius Pojavis – “Something”
3. Moldova: Aliona Moon – “O Mie”
4. Finland: Krista Siegfrids – “Marry Me”
5. Spain: El Sueño de Morfeo – “Contigo Hasta El Final”
6. Belgium: Roberto Bellarosa – “Love Kills”
7. Estonia: Birgit – “Et Uus Saaks Alguse”
8. Belarus: Alyona Lanskaya – “Solayoh”
9. Malta: Gianluca Bezzina – “Tomorrow”
10. Russia: Dina Garipova – “What If”
11. Germany: Cascada – “Glorius”
12. Armenia: Dorians – “Lonely Planet”
13. The Netherlands: Anouk – “Birds”
14. Romania: Cezar – “It’s My Life”
15. United Kingdom: Bonnie Tyler – “Believe In Me”
16. Sweden: Robin Stjernberg – “You”
17. Hungary: ByeAlex – “Kedvesem”
18. Denmark: Emmelie de Forest “Only Teardrops”
19. Iceland: Eyþór Ingi – “Ég Á Líf”
20. Azerbaijan: Farid Mammadov – “Hold Me”
21. Greece: Koza Mostra featuring Agathon Iakovidis – “Alcohol Is Free”
22. Ukraine: Zlata Ognevich – “Gravity”
23. Italy: Marco Mengoni – “L’essenziale”
24. Norway: Margaret Berger – “I Feed You My Love”
25. Georgia: Nodi Tatishvili & Sophie Gelovani – “Waterfall”
26. Ireland: Ryan Dolan – “Only Love Survives”
Eurovision Song Contest 2013  Malmö  Sweden
Eurovision Song Contest 2013, Malmö, Sweden
Creative Commons
Denmark's Emmelie de Forest, with "Only Teardrops", is the favourite to win while Lithuania's Andrius Pojavis surprised many on Tuesday by progressing through from the first semi-final.
Viewers and official judges from all competing nations, including the 13 countries were knocked out in the semi-finals, will vote in tonight’s final.
More about Eurovision 2013, Eurovision song contest, Per, Latvia, Edmunds and Ralph
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News