Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageDenmark wins Eurovision Song Contest 2013

By Mathew Wace Peck     May 18, 2013 in Entertainment
Denmark has won the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest – held in Malmö, Sweden – the 58th contest since the world’s most popular musical extravaganza began in 1956.
Denmark’s Emmelie de Forest, 20, competed with the song “Only Teardrops”, which had been widely expected to win. She received 281 points.
Azerbaijan – who won the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest – came second with 234 points for Farid Mammadov, who sang “Hold Me”. Ukraine's Zlata Ognevich – singing “Gravity” – came third with 214 points.
This year, 39 countries took part in Eurovision, 16 of them being knocked out in the two semi-finals earlier in the week.
The First Semi-Final, on Tuesday, saw Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia were all leave the competition. The Second Semi-Final, on Thursday, saw Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Latvia, FYR Macedonia, San Marino and Switzerland follow suit.
The 26 countries that took part in the Eurovision Song Contest 2013 Final were, in order of performance:
1. France: Amadine Bourgeois – “L’enfer et moi” (23rd place)
2. Lithuania: Andrius Pojavis – “Something” (22nd place)
3. Moldova: Aliona Moon – “O Mie” (11th place)
4. Finland: Krista Siegfrids – “Marry Me” (24th place)
5. Spain: El Sueño de Morfeo – “Contigo Hasta El Final” (25th place)
6. Belgium: Roberto Bellarosa – “Love Kills” (12th place)
7. Estonia: Birgit – “Et Uus Saaks Alguse” (20th place)
8. Belarus: Alyona Lanskaya – “Solayoh” (16th place)
9. Malta: Gianluca Bezzina – “Tomorrow” (8th place)
10. Russia: Dina Garipova – “What If” (5th place)
11. Germany: Cascada – “Glorius” (21st place)
12. Armenia: Dorians – “Lonely Planet” (18th place)
13. The Netherlands: Anouk – “Birds” (9th place)
14. Romania: Cezar – “It’s My Life” (13th place)
15. United Kingdom: Bonnie Tyler – “Believe In Me” (19th place)
16. Sweden: Robin Stjernberg – “You” (14th place)
17. Hungary: ByeAlex – “Kedvesem” (10th place)
18. Denmark: Emmelie de Forest “Only Teardrops” (1st place)
19. Iceland: Eyþór Ingi – “Ég Á Líf” (17th place)
20. Azerbaijan: Farid Mammadov – “Hold Me” (2nd place)
21. Greece: Koza Mostra feat. Agathon Iakovidis – “Alcohol Is Free” (6th place)
22. Ukraine: Zlata Ognevich – “Gravity” (3rd place)
23. Italy: Marco Mengoni – “L’essenziale” (7th place)
24. Norway: Margaret Berger – “I Feed You My Love” (4th place)
25. Georgia: Nodi Tatishvili & Sophie Gelovani – “Waterfall” (15th place)
26. Ireland: Ryan Dolan – “Only Love Survives” (26th place)
Emmelie de Forest holding the Eurovision 2013 Trophy
Emmelie de Forest holding the Eurovision 2013 Trophy
The 20 successful semi-finalists were joined in the final by Sweden – who automatically qualified, having won in 2012 – and the Big Five – France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom – who, as the countries responsible for funding the event, automatically have a place in the final.
The Eurovision Song Contest is organised annually by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). To qualify, countries do not have to be part of Europe. Despite the “Euro” in “Eurovision”, eligibility is not determined by geographic inclusion within the European continent and bears no relation to the the membership or otherwise of the European Union (EU). Rather, any country that is an Active Member (as opposed to an Associate Member) – of the EBU can take part.
This year’s host nation, Sweden, won the contest in 2012, with Loreen’s “Euphoria”.
More about Eurovision 2013, Denmark, Azerbaijan, Emmelie de Forest, Only Teardrops
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News