Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageEurovision Song Contest 2013: Second Semi-Final results

By Mathew Wace Peck     May 17, 2013 in Entertainment
Thursday saw the selection of the last ten countries to go through to the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest Final, which will be held this coming Saturday.
Seventeen countries took part in last night’s second semi-final, which was held at the the Malmö Arena, in Malmö, Sweden.
The 58th Eurovision Song Contest is being hosted by Sweden as that country won the competition in 2012, with Loreen singing “Euphoria”
The ten acts who to go through are:
· Hungary: ByeAlex – “Kedvesem”
· Azerbaijan: Farid Mammadov – “Hold Me”
· Georgia: Nodi Tatishvili & Sophie Gelovani – “Waterfall”
· Iceland: Eyþór Ingi – “Ég Á Líf”
· Norway: Margaret Berger – “I Feed You My Love”
· Romania: Cezar – “It’s My Life”
· Armenia: Dorians – “Lonely Planet”
· Finland: Krista Siegfrids – “Marry Me”
· Malta: Gianluca – “Tomorrow”
· Greece: Koza Mostra featuring Agathon Iakovidis – “Alcohol Is Free”
Belarus, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Lithuania, Moldova, The Netherlands, Russia and Ukraine all went through from the first semi-final, which was held on Tuesday.
Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Latvia, FYR Macedonia, San Marino and Switzerland were all knocked out of the second semi-final of the competition. Meanwhile, Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia were all knocked out in the first semi-final.
The Eurovision Song Contest (ESC) is organised annually by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). To qualify to enter the ESC, countries do not have to be part of Europe. Despite the “Euro” in “Eurovision”, eligibility is not determined by geographic inclusion within the European continent and bears no relation to the the membership or otherwise of the European Union (EU).
Rather, any country that is an Active Member (as opposed to an Associate Member) – of the EBU can take part.
The 20 successful semi-finalists join the Big Five countries – France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom – who, as the countries responsible for funding the event, automatically have a place in the final. As last year’s winner, Sweden is also guaranteed a place in the final.
The Eurovision Song Contest 2013 will be broadcast live across the globe on Saturday, 18 May.
More about Eurovision song contest, Eurovision 2013, Malm
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News