Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageReview: The Mavericks release their newest album 'In Time'

By Markos Papadatos     Feb 26, 2013 in Entertainment
On Feb. 26, 2013, The Mavericks released their latest studio album “In Time,” via their record label, the Valory Music Company.
The Grammy-award winning group is comprised of Raul Malo on lead vocals, as well as Eddie Perez, Paul Deakin, Robert Reynolds and Jerry Dale McFadden. In 1995, the band was named “Vocal Group of the Year” by the Academy of Country Music (ACM) and Country Music Association (CMA) respectively. They are best-known for such hit songs as “Here Comes the Rain” and “Dance The Night Away.”
Raul co-produced this project with Niko Bolas, who has worked with such artists as Neil Young and the late Warren Zevon.
Particularly impressive about this collection is that their Cuban-American frontman, Raul Malo, either wrote or co-wrote each of the 14 songs on the album.
The CD opens with “Back in Your Arms Again” and it is followed by “Lies” and the melodically infectious “Born to Be Blue.”
Raul soars on such ballads as “In Another’s Arms” and “Forgive Me” and with the mid-tempo “Fall Apart,” he changes the pace of the album.
“Amsterdam Moon” and “Come Unto Me” stand out as two of the greatest tracks on the album and although “Call Me When You Get to Heaven” may be quite lengthy, it is a controlled and haunting vocal.
It closes with a Spanish version of “Come Unto Me” entitled “Ven Hacia Mi.”
The Verdict
Overall, The Mavericks are back with their latest effort “In Time.” It is highly eclectic, sultry and a true songwriting masterpiece. It deserves two thumbs up and it is recommended for fans of such legendary artists as Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash and Roy Orbison.
For more information on The Mavericks and their newest release, visit their official website.
More about The Mavericks, In Time, valory music company, Academy of Country Music, country music association
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News