Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imagePhilippine Azkals beat Chinese Taipei to win Football Peace Cup

By Leo Reyes     Sep 29, 2012 in Sports
The Philippine Azkals defeated rival Chinese Taipei 3-1 to win the Philippine Football Peace Cup Saturday evening at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila.
In their earlier games, the Philippine Azkals defeated Macau after trashing Guam in the previous games during the tournament.
It was a historical victory for the Azkals which last won an international football competition almost a century ago during the Far East games in 1913.
The victory was also the first time the Azkals won over Chinese Taipei in about seven encounters in the past.
Chinese Taipei ended the series as runner up, followed by Guam and Macau as second and third runners-up respectively.
Filipino-German Denis Wolf was first to score for the Azkals while team mates Chieffy Calicdong and OJ Portera contributed one goal each.
Chinese Taipei had a good second half start as team player Chang Han converted a goal past Filipino gate keeper Edward Sacapano in the 52nd minute. They were however unsuccessful in converting a point until the end of the game.
During the awarding ceremonies, Sacapano was declared best goal keeper despite his failure to deflect Chang Han's goal shot in the second half.
Dennis Wolf, who got four goals in the tournament received the Golden Boot and Most Valuable Player awards. Matthew Uy won best midfielder while Jeff Christaens was awarded best defender.
The Philippine Azkals will play in the upcoming 2012 AFF Suzuki Cup which kicks off in Thailand on November 24.
Six teams have qualified for the 2012 AFF Suzuki Cup which include Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore,Thailand and Vietnam.
More about Football, Philippine Azkals, peace cup
More news from
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News