Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageScotiabank Giller Prize Announces their Longlist for 2012

By Chanah Rubenstein     Sep 4, 2012 in Entertainment
The Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist was announced today. Thirteen authors will be vying for Canada's most coveted award and the publicity that comes along with it.
Every summer, a panel of jurists is selected to read through more than 100 books. As they go through the many books, they will narrow down the list to approximately a dozen books of fiction and short stories. From there, they will decide on the four or five books that will make the shortlist.
This year, the jury is comprised of American author and satirist Gary Shteyngart, Canadian publisher, essayist and writer Anna Porter, and Irish author and screenwriter, Roddy Doyle.
Together, 51 publishers from across Canada nominated a total of 142 books.
Here is the Scotibank Giller Prize longlist:
Marjorie Celona for her novel Y, published by Hamish Hamilton Canada
Lauren B. Davis for her novel Our Daily Bread, published by HarperCollins Canada
Cary Fagan for his short story collection My Life Among the Apes, published by Cormorant Books
Will Ferguson for his novel 419, published by Viking Canada
Robert Hough for his novel Dr. Brinkley’s Tower, published by House of Anansi Press
Billie Livingston for her novel One Good Hustle, published by Random House Canada
Annabel Lyon for her novel The Sweet Girl, published by Random House Canada
Alix Ohlin for her novel Inside, published by House of Anansi Press
Katrina Onstad for her novel Everybody Has Everything, published by McClelland & Stewart
CS Richardson for his novel The Emperor of Paris, published by Doubleday Canada
Nancy Richler for her novel The Imposter Bride, published by HarperCollins Canada
Kim Thúy for her novel Ru, translated by Sheila Fischman, published by Random House Canada
Russell Wangersky for his short story collection Whirl Away, published by Thomas Allen Publishers
The National Post points out that many previous winners of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, who also published a book this year, are not on the longlist. David Bergen, Vincent Lam, Linden MacIntyre, and M.G. Vassanji (who has won twice before) do not appear on this years list.
Annabel Lyon is the only writer on this years longlist to have previously been shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her book, The Golden Mean, was nominated in 2009, but lost to Linden MacIntyre and his novel, The Bishop's Man. The Golden Mean was nominated for three major Canadian literary prizes in 2009 (The Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General's Award and the Rogers Writer's Trust Fiction Prize.) She took home the Rogers prize. This year's nominated book, The Sweet Girl, is the sequel to 2009's The Golden Mean.
Last year's winner was Esi Edugyan for her book, Half-Blood Blues. The shortlist included world renowned author Michael Ondaatje, Zsuzsi Gartner, Patrick deWitt, Lynn Coady, and David Bezmozgis.
This is the 19th year for the Scotiabank Giller Prize (prior to 2005, it was known only has the Giller Prize.) The literary award began in memory of literary journalist, Doris Giller, by her husband Jack Rabinovich.
The shortlist will be announced on October 1st, 2012 and the gala to announce the winner will be on October 30th, 2012. The grand prize winner will be awarded $50,000 and the finalists will be given $5000. It’s also expected that each author will also see a large upswing in their sales for each book.
More about Scotiabank giller prize, Canadian literature, Literary awards
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News