Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter
Connect your Digital Journal account with Facebook or Twitter to use this feature.
Connect
Log In Sign Up
In the Media

article imageOp-Ed: Join Ric O'Barry and his team live, as they report from the Cove

article:331867:10::0
By Elizabeth Batt
Aug 30, 2012 in Environment
Share
Taiji - After last year's successful live broadcasts from Taiji, Japan, Ric O'Barry and his team from Save Japan Dolphins and Dolphin Project will report live from 'The Cove' beginning Sep. 1.
The Director of Earth Island Institute’s Dolphin Project, will join representatives from five continents at the Cove in Taiji, Japan, to conduct a series of events to mark the beginning of the dolphin slaughter season in Taiji.
In support of O'Barry's mission, over 90 cities around the globe will also host Japan Dolphins Day, a world event designed to raise awareness for the hundreds of dolphins slaughtered and captured in Taiji each year.
Last year, four months into the season, O'Barry spent several days taking dolphin advocates on a daily tour of Taiji. Armed with nothing more than an iPad, the director beamed events live as they happened into activists' homes. It was an eye-opening expose for many who could not get to Taiji, but who felt a common association with the small fishing village, even if at opposite ends of the spectrum.
Located in the Wakayama prefecture of Japan, Taiji town was featured in the Academy Award-winning documentary The Cove, but O'Barry's live reports brought the reality of the hunt much closer to home. Broadcast live and unedited, the raw feed was haunting; as for the dolphin drive itself, it could only be described as primeval.
As fishermen with boats drove the dolphins toward the Cove, activists around the world willed them away again. For many who watched the scene unfold, it was hard to breathe. The incessant thwacking of banger poles tortured even human ears, but it was an unimaginable torment for the dolphins trying to flee them.
On Sep. 1, 2 and 3rd, the Dolphin Project team will once again broadcast live from Taiji at 11:30 AM Tokyo time, via Ric O’Barry’s Ustream Channel. In the United States, the dates and times are as follows:
Friday Aug. 31:10:30 PM EST; 7:30 PM PST; 8:30 PM MST.
Saturday Sep. 1 and Sunday Sep. 2 : 11:00 PM EST; 8:00 PM PST and 9:00 PM MST.
The team will also issue updates from the Cove on Twitter, via #Tweet4dolphins. Further details are available at Save Japan Dolphins.org and Dolphin Project.org.
This opinion article was written by an independent writer. The opinions and views expressed herein are those of the author and are not necessarily intended to reflect those of DigitalJournal.com
article:331867:10::0
More about save japan dolphins, taiji japan, dolphin project, taiji dolphin drives
 
Latest News
Top News
Engage

Corporate

Help & Support

News Links

copyright © 2014 digitaljournal.com   |   powered by dell servers