Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageAlberta PC Premier Alison Redford announces 18-member cabinet

By Andrew Moran     May 9, 2012 in Politics
Calgary - A couple of weeks after winning a historic election, Alberta Premier Alison Redford announced her cabinet, which consists of six Calgary MLAs becoming ministers and a Tory who claimed to be assaulted by a senior citizen during the campaign trail.
Progressive Conservative Premier Alison Redford has a lot on her plate over the next four years. Continuing the party’s 41-year dynasty in Alberta with another majority government, Redford announced her 18-member cabinet and seven associate members Tuesday.
The cabinet shuffle brings both veteran and rookie MLAs to the fold. Calgary celebrated when it found out that six of its MLAs made the cabinet, including Ric McIver, who was a former Calgary mayoral candidate in 2010 when he lost to Naheed Nenshi. McIver will serve as Transportation Minister.
Thomas Lukaszuk, who has served as the province’s Education Minister and made headlines last month when he got into a verbal and alleged physical spat with an aging and ill senior, was appointed as deputy premier. One of his responsibilities includes chairing the Operations Policy Committee.
“This restructuring is about achieving our goals and aligning our workforce with the priorities of this government,” said Redford in a news release. “This new Cabinet structure allows us to focus on the things that matter most to Albertans - a strong fiscal framework, caring for our most vulnerable citizens, promoting our resources, and solid consultation processes that ensure Albertans are heard.”
“We have a good mix of new and experienced MLAs. This is a team that is committed to the positive, constructive plan that we put forward during the election campaign that will help to build Albertans’ future,” added the premier.
Redford explained the new cabinet will target three important areas: investing in families and communities, securing the province’s economic future and advancing world-leading resource stewardship.
“Albertans have put their trust in us and going forward, we will demonstrate beyond a doubt that our government will be the change that Albertans are looking for,” the Alberta leader said.
Here is a list of the cabinet:
Alison Redford, QC, Calgary-Elbow | Premier, President of Executive Council, Chair of Agenda & Priorities
Thomas Lukaszuk, Edmonton-Castle Downs | Deputy Premier, Chair of Operations Policy Committee
Doug Horner, Spruce Grove-St. Albert | President of Treasury Board & Minister of Finance
David Hancock, Edmonton-Whitemud | Minister of Human Services, Government House Leader
Cal Dallas, Red Deer-South | Minister of International & Intergovernmental Relations
Diana McQueen, Drayton Valley-Devon | Minister of Environment & Sustainable Resource Development
Fred Horne, Edmonton-Rutherford | Minister of Health
Ken Hughes, Calgary-West | Minister of Energy
Jeff Johnson, Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater | Minister of Education
Verlyn Olson, Wetaskiwin-Camrose | Minister of Agriculture & Rural Development
Jonathan Denis, Calgary-Acadia | Minister of Justice & Solicitor General, Deputy House Leader
Doug Griffiths, Battle River-Wainwright | Minister of Municipal Affairs
Robin Campbell, West Yellowhead | Minister of Aboriginal Relations, Deputy House Leader
Heather Klimchuk, Edmonton-Glenora | Minister of Culture
Manmeet Bhullar, Calgary-Greenway | Minister of Service Alberta
Wayne Drysdale, Grande Prairie-Wapiti | Minister of Infrastructure
Stephen Khan, St. Albert | Minister of Enterprise & Advanced Education
Ric McIver, Calgary-Hays | Minister of Transportation, Deputy House Leader
Christine Cusanelli, Calgary-Currie | Minister of Tourism, Parks & Recreation
Here is a list of the associate ministers:
George VanderBurg, Whitecourt-Ste.Anne | Seniors (reporting to the Minister of Health)
Frank Oberle, Peace River | Services for Persons with Disabilities (reporting to the Minister of Human Services)
Kyle Fawcett, Calgary-Klein | Finance
Teresa Woo-Paw, Calgary-Northern Hills | International & Intergovernmental Relations
Greg Weadick, Lethbridge-West | Municipal Affairs
Don Scott, Fort McMurray-Conklin | Accountability, Transparency & Transformation (reporting to Minister of Service Alberta)
Dave Rodney, Calgary-Lougheed | Wellness (reporting to the Minister of Health)
More about alberta premier, Alison Redford, Cabinet, wildrose party, Thomas Lukaszuk
More news from
Latest News
Top News