Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter
Connect your Digital Journal account with Facebook or Twitter to use this feature.

article imageMusic Monday prepares to unite Canada in song

article:324188:8::0
By John Duarte     May 3, 2012 in Entertainment
Toronto - Music students from across Canada will make their voices heard in song on May 7 as part of an annual event raising awareness about the importance of music education in schools.
The event will feature a simultaneous performance of this year’s theme song, Tomorrow Is Coming, beginning at 1 p.m. eastern time. The song, commissioned by Music Monday: Coalition for Music Education and the CBC, was written by Juno Award nominee and Canadian Folk Music Award winner Luke Doucet.
Tomorrow Is Coming is a deliberately optimistic piece that offers music as a positive place to channel the many emotional ups and downs that we all encounter in our lives,” says the songwriter. “We are often told to express emotions in a muted way (don’t vocalize anger, don’t boast about your achievements, etc) but in music, all emotions are fair and can have a place.”
Music Monday is an annual event launched by the Coalition for Music Education in 2005. Each year, thousands of students, musicians, parents and community members get together, at the same time in various places across the country, to celebrate the gift of music. The event usually takes place on the first Monday in May. This year’s event, on May 7, will be held at 1 p.m. eastern time and in time zones across Canada – 10 a.m. Pacific time, 11 a.m. Mountain, 12 p.m. Central, 2 p.m. Atlantic and 2:30 p.m. in Newfoundland and Labrador. Last year, Music Monday drew over 650,000 participants. Similar celebrations have been held in the United States, Great Britain, Hungary and Australia.
The coalition hopes Music Monday becomes a catalyst showcasing the relevance and importance of music education and programs in the schools shape young lives. Doucet says his exposure to music and involvement in music programs while in public school helped forge his career.
“I make my living as a musician. I am not sure I would have been able to do that had I not been introduced to music quite a bit as a young person, and for me that meant through the public school system in Winnipeg, Manitoba.” he says.
Besides the Tomorrow Is Coming song, participating communities are also hosting individual events to celebrate Music Monday.
article:324188:8::0
More about music monday, music event, school music programs, CBC, coalition for music education
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News

Corporate

Help & Support

News Links

copyright © 2014 digitaljournal.com   |   powered by dell servers