Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageDove Awards like Natalie Grant

By Tim O'Brien     Apr 20, 2012 in World
Atlanta - Gospel and contemporary Christian music filled the air at the Fox Theater in Atlanta last night (April 19) as the Dove Awards were handed out.
Natalie Grant won her fifth Female Vocalist of the Year award. But, perhaps, it was a night for Jason Crabb to shine. He was awarded two top prizes with Mae Vocalist of the Year and Artist of the Year.
As for Best New Artist, a catchy crossover tune called "Love Me" by Jamie Grace won. She also suffers from Tourette's Syndrome but, after some encouragement, kept her dream of singing alive and now she has won a Dove.
For more on the what the winners said head to this A portion of the show will air there on Tuesday, April 24.
Here are the winners:
Song of the year
“Blessings” Laura Story
Male Vocalist of Year
Jason Crabb
Female Vocalist of Year
Natalie Grant
Group of the Year
Artist of the Year
Jason Crabb
New Artist of the Year
Producer of the Year
Ed Cash
Rap/Hip-Hop Song of the Year
“Hallelujah” LeCrae
Rock/Contemporary Song of the Year
“Dark Horses” Switchfoot
Pop/Contemporary Song of the Year
“Blessings” Laura Story
Inspirational Song of the Year
“Hope of the Broken World” Selah
Southern Gospel Song of the Year
“Celebrate Me Home” The Perrys
Bluegrass Song of the Year
“Mama’s Teaching Angels How to Sing” The Isaacs
Country Song of the Year
“Good Things are Happening” Karen Peck & New River
Urban Song of the Year
“Sweeter” Canton Jones
Traditional Gospel Song of the Year
“Hold On” Christ Tabernacle Choir
Contemporary Gospel Song of the Year
“I Smile” Kirk Franklin
Worship Song of the Year
“Your Great Name” Michael Neale, Krissy Nordhoff
Rap/Hip-Hop Album of the Year
“Rehab: The Overdose” LeCrae
Rock Album of the Year
“Vice Verses” Switchfoot
Rock Contemporary Album of the Year
Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year
“Blessings” Laura Story
Inspirational Album of the Year
“Hope of the Broken World” Selah
Southern Gospel Album of the Year
“Reach Out” Karen Peck and New River
Bluegrass Album of the Year
“Grassroots Rambos” The Rambos
Country Album of the Year
“Dreamin’ Wide Awake” Doug Anderson
Urban Album of the Year
“Church on the Moon” Derrick Haddon
Traditional Gospel Album of the Year
“Promises” Richard Smallwood
Contemporary Gospel Album of the Year
“Hello Fear” Kirk Franklin
Inspirational Album of the Year
“Unfailing Love: 20 Worship Songs of Comfort and Peace” Stan Whitmire
Children’s Album of the Year
“Groovy” Denver and the Mile High Orchestra
Spanish Album of the Year
“Top 25 Cantos de Alabanza 2012” Various Artists
Special Event Album of the Year
“The Story” Various artists
Christmas Album of the Year
“Oh for Joy” David Crowder Band
Praise and Worship Album of the Year
“And if Our God is For Us” Chris Tomlin
Musical of the Year
“Down From His Glory” Mike Speck
Youth/Children’s Musical of the Year
“God of This City” Susie Williams, David Ebensberger and Luke Gambill
Choral Collection of the Year
“Everlasting Praise 3” Mike Speck, Stan Whitmire
Music Packaging
“Christmas in Diverse City” TobyMac
Short Form Music Video
“You Are More” Tenth Avenue North, Wes Edwards
Long Form Music Video
“Fear Not Tomorrow” The Collingsworth Family
* Note: Tim O'Brien hosts a weekly Faith and Inspiration radio show from 10 a.m.- Noon CST Thursdays on AM 1240 WSDR, Sterling, Illinois. It can be heard at
More about Gospel music, Music, Awards, Entertainment, Religion
More news from