Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

European Online Journalism Awards launched

By Digital Journal Staff     Mar 9, 2001 in Technology
LONDON - The 2001 EOJ Awards, a competition to reward excellence in online journalism, was launched today by the organisers of the annual NetMedia conference in London.
The awards, now in their third year, were set up in recognition of the
huge changes online publishing is making to journalism and were the
first awards to honour the work of online journalists.
The competition is open to all European journalists and the judges are
drawn from leading media houses across the continent.
Milverton Wallace, organiser of the NetMedia conference, held in London
since 1995, says the recent upheavals in the online media sector serve
to reinforce the need for the profession to produce more journalists
with a practical understanding of what Internet media technologies are
capable of and how to use them to produce new and exciting journalism
services for our readers and viewers.
"The aim of these awards is to showcase excellent examples of good
stories told with the tools of the Internet. Example is the best
teacher. The hope is that these awards will inspire journalists to
acquire the knowledge and skills required to make their online stories
more compelling and accessible to users, " he says.
Awards will be offered in 20 categories (See Notes).
Deadline for submission of entries is 31 May 2001
Notes for editors
    Prize Categories
  • Best news story, Best feature story, Best general news presentation Best
    Investigative reporting, Best news design and navigation Best news story
    broken on the Net, Best innovation in online journalism Best overall
    journalism service, Internet journalist of the year, Outstanding
    contribution to online journalism in Europe, Best use of mobile
    connectivity, Best use of multimedia
  • Technology, Sports, Travel, Business and Economics, Music &
    Entertainment, Environment, Financial reporting, Science, Travel
    Honour Award
  • Special award (for an individual achievement in protecting and defending
    online rights and freedoms)
  • The Awards web site is at:
  • All entries must be submitted via the web site
  • The awards are being held in conjunction with the NetMedia 2001
    conference, scheduled for 5/6 July
  • The annual NetMedia conference, which began in 1995, is the
    premier Internet event for European journalists and media managers.
  • For further information contact:
Milverton Wallace
Email: msw
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7307 8118
Fax: +44 (0) 20 7307 8101
More about Journalism, Websites, Writers, Authors
Latest News
Top News