Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageNew Democrat Craig Scott wins big in Toronto-Danforth by-election

By Andrew Moran     Mar 20, 2012 in Politics
Toronto - Toronto-Danforth remains orange for at least the next three years. New Democratic Party candidate Craig Scott won in an overwhelming fashion by garnering nearly 60 percent of the vote and will now succeed former NDP leader Jack Layton.
The orange crush prevails. The Official Opposition in the House of Commons will welcome a new Member of Parliament: the newly-elected Craig Scott. Toronto-Danforth’s by-election saw a very wide margin of victory Monday night for Scott.
As a little more than 43 percent of voters cast a ballot in the federal riding just east of downtown Toronto, or 32,318 out of 74,512, Scott was able to pick up nearly 60 percent of the vote. This was followed by his closest competitor, Liberal candidate Grant Gordon, who received more than 28 percent of the vote.
These were the only two candidates able to gain double digit percentages, while the others could not garner much support.
Andrew Keyes, the Conservative candidate in the riding, and Adriana Mugnatto-Hamu, the Green Party candidate, were neck-and-neck throughout the night as the numbers were coming in. By the end of it all, Keyes had the upper hand by only more than 200 votes.
Progressive Canadian Party candidate Dorian Baxter received the most votes out of all the independent/minor political party candidates. John Recker, Libertarian Party candidate, was in a close second place. Independent candidate Bahman Yazdanfar was last in the polls.
Below are the results of the 11 candidates (100 percent reporting):
Dorian Baxter – PC Party: 0.6 percent | 207 votes
Leslie Bory – Independent/Maple Party: 0.2 percent | 76 votes
Grant Gordon – Liberal Party: 28.5 percent | 9,215 votes
Brian Jedan – United Party: 0.2 percent | 54 votes
Andrew Keyes – Conservative Party: 5.4 percent | 1,736 votes
Adriana Mugnatto-Hamu – Green Party: 4.7 percent | 1,517 votes
Christopher Robert Porter – Canadian Action Party: 0.2 percent | 77 votes
John Christopher Recker – Libertarian Party: 0.4 percent | 133 votes
Craig Scott – New Democratic Party: 59.4 percent | 19,210 votes
John Turmel – Independent: 0.2 percent | 51 votes
Bahman Yazdanfar – Independent: 0.1 percent | 36 votes
Speaking at the Opera House on Queen Street East, Scott said the “orange crush is here to stay and it’s not going anywhere.”
“Tonight Toronto-Danforth has spoken. As a good friend of ours would say, we’ve chosen love, we’ve chosen hope, we’ve chosen optimism,” said Scott, who quoted Layton before he perished, reports the Toronto Star.
Meanwhile, Gordon said in a statement that even though he lost, he was able to narrow the gap between the NDP and the Grits, which was something that most people thought could not happen in Toronto-Danforth.
Monday’s election, however, did not change the balance of power in parliament. The NDP still maintains 101 seats.
More about torontodanforth byelection, craig scott, New democratic party, grant gordon, john recker
More news from
Latest News
Top News