Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article image'The Artist' wins award from directors guild

By Tim O'Brien     Jan 29, 2012 in Entertainment
The stream roller continues as Michel Hazanavicius for "The Artist" wins the top honor from the Directors Guild of America Saturday night (Jan. 28).
In case one is holding out for an upset come Oscar time, there has been six times when the winner of the DGA hasn't gone on to win the Best Director Oscar since 1948. As for the directors themselves, the film in which they directed has usually gone on to win Best Picture as well. That has not happened 13 times.
So, there is still that slight chance of a "Hugo" or even "The Descendants" squeezing in. As for "Hugo," many are not giving it a shot but since it has the most Oscar nominations, that qualifies it as a major contender.
Here is the list of those exceptions, which means there may be room. But with the win by Hazanavicius, he certainly is now the front runner.
2005...Guild honors "Brokeback Mountain" and Oscar to "Crash"
2000... "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" and Oscar to "Gladiator"
1998..."Saving Private Ryan" and Oscar to "Shakespeare in Love"
1995..."Apollo 13" and Oscar to "Braveheart"
1989..."Born on the Fourth of July" and Oscar to "Driving Miss Daisy"
1985..."The Color Purple" and Oscar to "Out of Africa"
1981..."Reds "and Oscar to "Chariots of Fire"
1968..."The Lion in Winter" and Oscar to "Oliver!"
1967..."The Graduate" and Oscar to "In the Heat of the Night"
1956..."Giant" and Oscar to "Around the World in 80 Days"
1952..."The Quiet Man" and Oscar to "The Greatest Show on Earth"
1951..."A Place in the Sun" and Oscar to "An American in Paris"
1948..."A Letter to Three Wives" and Oscar to "Hamlet"
As for when the directors won the DGA and they lost the Oscars, the most recent win was in 2002 when Ron Marshall won for "Chicago" and Roman Polanski took home Oscar for "The Pianist". The others are Ang Lee for "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" and Oscar to Steven Soderbergh for "Traffic" in 2000; Ron Howard for "Apollo 13" and Oscar to Mel Gibson for "Braveheart" in 1995; Steven Spielberg for "The Color Purple" and Oscar to Sydney Pollack for "Out of Africa" in 1985; Francis Ford Coppola for "The Godfather" and Oscar to Bob Fosse for "Cabaret" in 1972 and Anthony Harvey for "The Lion in Winter" and Oscar to Carol Reed for "Oliver!" in 1968.
Overall, the track record for the directors seems solid going forward. Oh, yes, the Producers Guild of America also gave the honors to "The Artist" recently.
More about the artist, DGA, Directors, Producers, Movie
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News