Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter
Connect your Digital Journal account with Facebook or Twitter to use this feature.

article imageFacebook pushing out 'Timeline' to all users in mandatory update

article:318426:23::0
By Kerry Jones     Jan 24, 2012 in Technology
Facebook is the Internet home to more than 800 million people, so any kind of switch to the way the network operates is a huge issue.


Absolutely nothing could be broader for the social media giant than to entirely revamp all users profile pages, which is precisely what is taking place today.
Beginning today, the brand-new Timeline function — which before today was optional — has become required according to a Facebook blog post.
The Huffington Post reports that Timeline converts from the defaulting profile page that we are familiar with in a few different ways:
Now, besides featuring just your most recent postings, your profile will show your entire history of activity on Facebook since you joined.
The change allows users to capture their complete social history, clear back to the day they joined Facebook.
Facebook says Timeline will be pushed out in the coming weeks, and once users move over they will have 7 days to review the changes before they are shown publicly.
The revamping can be either a positive thing and or maybe a curse for skilled Facebook users says WTVR, as it can bring back happy memories but also embarrassing status updates or pictures uploaded years ago that have been long forgotten.
Facebook's Timeline may well remind you of separations, career trouble, or maybe a few hush-hush party pics you forgot about.
Based on your privacy settings, these milestones on your electronic history could show new friends — like co-workers, family and associates — a part of you that you might prefer to keep hidden.
Privacy is, without a doubt, a sweltering issue for Facebook end users along with the network's repetitive series of sharing choices can be challenging to navigate, even for the most advanced social networkers.
The enterprise isn't blind to how the Timeline may bring up some undesirable earlier activities, so a short buffer zone is actually established to enable everyone to update their Timeline before making it live to the public.
article:318426:23::0
More about Facebook applications, Facebook profile, facebook timeline, Facebook page, Facebook account
More news from

Corporate

Help & Support

News Links

copyright © 2014 digitaljournal.com   |   powered by dell servers