Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageNewfoundland, Yukon voters give Tories majority governments

By Andrew Moran     Oct 12, 2011 in Politics
Whitehorse - Voters in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador and in the territory of Yukon have re-elected their incumbent conservative parties to majority governments for the third straight election year.
As provinces in Canada recently finished casting their ballots and electing political candidates or re-electing their Members of Provincial Parliament, a province and a territory held their election Tuesday, which led to conservative rule.
Newfoundland and Labrador Election
Kathy Dunderdale, the newest leader of the incumbent Progressive Conservative Party of Newfoundland and Labrador, were re-elected with a third straight majority government, although it was slightly reduced.
Dunderdale, who was chosen to succeed her predecessor Danny Williams, will now become the first female premier in the province.
“My heart is stirring with pride tonight,” said Dunderdale as she addressed her supporters, reports the Chronicle Herald. “As I stand here tonight, I can’t help but wonder what my grandmother and great-grandmother would think. Until 1925, a woman could not vote in Newfoundland and Labrador.”
The PCs garnered 37 seats (compared to 43 seats before the election). Kevin Aylward’s Liberal Party still maintained Official Opposition status by gaining six seats and holding on to four of them. Lorraine Michael’s New Democrats still sit in third place but did win five seats.
Yukon Election
The Yukon Party, a right-of-centre party, won a majority government for the third straight time. Darrell Pasloski, who was unelected when he slated to lead the Yukon Party back in the spring, led his party to an 11-seat victory in the 19-seat territorial legislature.
“My focus now is how do we take our new team and the things that we talked about to move forward and make this a better place for all Yukoners,” said Pasloski, who debated mostly on environment and housing issues, according to CBC News.
Liz Hanson’s New Democrats became the Official Opposition party after winning six seats from three. Hanson said that her party will put the government’s feet to the fire in regards to the territory’s finances. “We have dire concerns about those and we'll be looking forward to having a full and open debate about that.”
Meanwhile, Arthur Mitchell’s Grits only won two seats and fell from five.
More about newfoundland labrador election 2011, yukon election 2011, Conservatives, Majority, Newfoundland
More news from
Latest News
Top News