Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter
Connect your Digital Journal account with Facebook or Twitter to use this feature.

article imageImagine Peace Tower to be relit in Reykjavik on Lennon's birthday

article:312541:35::0
By Kev Hedges     Oct 9, 2011 in Entertainment
Imagine Peace Tower will be relit by Yoko Ono on October 9th 2011 in memory of John Lennon. He would have been 71 today (Sunday). The tower will be lit at 8pm Reykjavik time and the event will stream live on the internet.
The site at Viðey, Reykjavík, Iceland was chosen because Iceland is regarded by Lennon's widow, Yoko Ono as an eco-friendly and peaceful nation. She will light the beam at 8pm local time (9pm London, 4pm New York, 4pm Toronto, 1pm Los Angeles, 5am Tokyo). A live EarthCam feed can be viewed here.
The Imagine Peace Tower is a tall "tower of light", and considered a work of art, projected from a white stone monument that has the words "Imagine Peace" carved into it in 24 languages. Ono will remain in the country to perform with her band, the Plastic Ono Band, at the Iceland Airwaves Festival, which will also see Iceland's premier pop superstar Bjork performing.
John Lennon and Yoko Ono.
John Lennon and Yoko Ono.
special permission by nicole myers
image:55141:10::0
Ono has also requested anyone can send wishes and messages of peace on Twitter (@IPTower) and Facebook. There is also a live world map showing white glowing dots, each one representing a real live person, online at that moment watching the Imagine Peace Tower web page.
The light beam often reaches cloud base and can often be seen penetrating through the clouds. Buried underneath the light tower are over half a million written messages or wish trees.
article:312541:35::0
More about John lennon, peace tower, Iceland
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News
Engage

Corporate

Help & Support

News Links

copyright © 2014 digitaljournal.com   |   powered by dell servers