Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageOntario: Kitchener candidates in the provincial election Oct. 6

By Susan Keeping     Sep 23, 2011 in Politics
Kitchener - Ontario is in the midst of an election campaign again. This time it is for the Government of Ontario. Election Day is October 6.
This time it is for the government of Ontario. Currently, Ontario is represented by the majority Liberal government of Dalton McGuinty; Tim Hudak (PC), Mike Shreiner (Green Party), Andrea Horvath (NDP) and Paul McKeever (Freedom Party of Ontario) hope to change this.
The Liberal Party was beaten badly in the last federal election; they seem to be doing a bit better in Ontario and currently have a 1 point lead over Tim Hudak’s Conservatives. It remains to be seen if the success that the NDP had during the federal election, which saw them become the official opposition party, will spill over into Ontario or if the recent death of Jack Layton will have any impact on Ontario voters.
Kitchener currently has 2 Liberal MPPs and 1 Progressive Conservative MPP; all seem to be popular with their constituents but in the current economic climate no one is safe, it really is anybody’s election to win. Here are the current candidates running in Kitchener Centre, Kitchener-Waterloo and Kitchener-Conestoga:
Kitchener Centre
Burga Astiz – Freedom Party of Ontario
Cameron Dearlove – NDP
Dave MacDonald – PC
John Milloy – Liberal (Incumbent)
Mark Vercouteren – Green Party
Isabel Cisterna – NDP
Eric Davis – Liberal
J.D. McGuire – Green Party
Melanie Motz – Freedom Party of Ontario
Elizabeth Witmer – PC (Incumbent)
Mark Cairns – NDP
Leeanna Pendergast – Liberal (Incumbent)
Michael Harris – PC
Robert Rose – Green Party
Whatever party or candidate you plan to vote for is immaterial, just make sure you get out and vote on October 6.
More about Kitchener, ontario election 2011, Candidates, Voting, Ontario
More news from
Latest News
Top News