Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageFacebook Revamps Privacy Control

By Dustin Bruce     Aug 23, 2011 in Internet
Today, Facebook has unveiled changes that allow users greater control over who is allowed to view what on a user's profile.
Despite popular outcry, Facebook users still don't have sight of a "dislike" button to complement the world famous "like" button. They have, however, revamped and streamlined privacy controls to give more the user more control over not only what parts of your profile information people can see, but also who can see new status updates the user posts.
The official Facebook article seperates the new changes into two categories:
On your profile:
Inline profile controls: This new setting removes the confusion of privacy settings. Instead of having to click through multiple pages of complicated privacy pages and headers, this new setting puts the privacy settings inline with the piece of information in question.
Profile/Content Tag review: Some users may have experienced the slightly annoying, or embarrassing, image tag from apps that you may not want to be tagged in. This new Facebook setting allows you to review the tags before they become visible on your profile page.
Removing Tags: Facebook also now allows you the ability to remove a annoying or embarrassing tag in three different ways: Remove the tag from your profile, remove the tag entirely, or the message the poster and ask for the content to be removed
View profile as...: This Facebook feature has been here for a time, but users had to dig through multiple pages of privacy settings to reach it. It allows users to view a sample of what the users profile would look like to a specific person or group.
When you share:
Inline controls: Like before, this feature has been available for a while, it's just been hidden in the mire of Facebook privacy pages. This feature allows the user to instantly update who views the specific post or update made. The options at this time are "Everyone", which is now known as "Public", "Friends", which adjusts the settings so that only the users friends may view the post, and "Custom", which allows the user to customize who may or may not view the post, for instance, specifically blocking a friend from viewing.
Chang your mind? Previously, when editing the privacy settings of a specific post, the user could not change the settings after posting. Facebook made the decision to allow privacy setting changes after having already posted information.
New tag settings: This update in settings now allows the user to tag someone or something in a post, regardless of friend status or whether you have "liked" a page or not. This is a change from the previous settings where you could only tag a friend, or a page you had previously "liked". Also, Facebook now allows you to tag a place in any post, not just when you were using the "Check-In" feature as before.
Despite the direct denial of Facebook Spokeswoman Meredith Chin, these new feature and privacy changes seem to be in direct response to the charge that Googe+, Facebook's upcoming competitor, allows greater control of visible content by organizing users in "circles" of friends. However, this is not a new issue, as it's been well known that users and analysts have complained that the privacy settings have been too hidden to be truly effective.
More about Facebook, facebook privacy, Internet privacy, Social media
 
Latest News
Top News