Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageIran to sanction 26 U.S. officials over human rights violations

By Andrew Moran     May 25, 2011 in World
Tehran - The National Security and Foreign Policy Committee in the Iranian Parliament, otherwise known as the Majlis, will apply sanctions against 26 United States officials, including former Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld.
The United States government recently imposed sanctions against the Venezuelan state oil company PDVSA in order to divert oil to Iran. Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez harshly criticized President Barack Obama and will now seek further domestic public anger against the United States.
This week, the European Union applied even tougher sanctions against Iran, but head of the Atomic Energy Organization of Iran Fereidoon Abbasi said these measures will not stop Iran from developing its nuclear program.
This latest international movement against Iran comes as the Islamic Republic is drawing up plans to impose sanctions against 26 U.S. officials for allegedly violating human rights at home and abroad, according to Xinhua.
Spokesperson for the Majlis National Security and Foreign Policy Committee, Member of Parliament Kazem Jalali, stated in an interview that the Parliament is reviewing a plan to apply these sanctions against U.S. officials who have allegedly committed human rights crimes in Afghanistan, Iraq and in other nations across the globe.
“All U.S. unilateral policies are scandalous, but some U.S. officials have played a more effective role in violating human rights, perpetrating crimes against humanity, and drug trafficking, so this plan envisages punishing these people,” said Jalali in front of reporters, according to the Tehran Times.
“In the next session of the committee the details of the plan will be approved, and then the complete list of the sanctioned U.S. officials will be published.”
Press TV reports that among those on the list include former Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld, Guantanamo Commander Rear Admiral Jeffrey Harbeson, former FBI chief Thomas J. Pickard, commander of U.S. forces in Iraq Raymond Odierno, General Tommy Franks and USS Vincennes Captain Will Rogers III.
More about iran parliament, Iran, Sanctions, united states officials, Donald rumsfeld
More news from
Latest News
Top News