Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageTorchwood spin-off drama in preparation

By Mathew Wace Peck     May 17, 2011 in Entertainment
Jane Espenson has confirmed that there will be a Torchwood spin-off web-drama to coincide with the upcoming 10-part series of the parent show.
According to Digital Spy, Espenson revealed the news via her Twitter feed, saying: "There is going to be Torchwood web content," she wrote. "So in addition to [the television series] there is Torchwood: Web of Lies. Enjoy all the [Torchwood] brands!"
Digital Spy also says that Espenson went on to hint strongly that Eliza Dushku will be starring in Web of Lies. Espenson wrote: "We have Faith in Web of Lies [. . .] there's an echo of my past work in [it.]"
The Twitter reference to "Faith" and "an echo of my past work" has been taken to refer to Dushku's part of Faith in Joss Whedon's Buffy the Vampire Slayer, a series that Espenson wrote for.
As well as Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Dushku and Espenson also both worked on Tru Calling Whedon's Dollhouse.
Captain Jack Harkness
Torchwood, which began in 2006, is itself a spin-off drama of the BBC's long-running science-fiction series Doctor Who. Its first full 13-part series being broadcast that same year. Torchwood was created by Russell T Davies (Queer as Folk), who, at the time, was the showrunner on Doctor Who. A second 13-part series followed in 2008, and a third – a mini-series titled Torchwood: Children of Earth – was broadcast in 2009. It's two main characters, Captain Jack Harkness (John Barrowman) and Gwen Cooper (Eve Myles), have appeared in all four series. Barrowman also plays Captain Jack in Doctor Who.
The fourth series – Torchwood: Miracle Day – will run to ten episodes and is written by Davies, Espenson, Doris Egan, John Shiban, John Fay and Ryan Scott. Unlike the first three, which were filmed and set mostly in Wales, UK, Miracle Day will be international in feel, having largely been filmed in the US.
According to Den of Geek, each of the ten episodes will have its own title: 1. The New World; 2. Rendition; 3. Dead of Night; 4. Escape to L.A.; 5. The Categories of Life; 6. The Middle Men; 7. Immortal Sins; 8. End of the Road; 9. The Gathering; 10. The Blood Line.
Kai Owen and Tom Price will both be returning to the series – as Rhys Williams and Police Sergeant Andy, respectively – while new characters will include Rex Matheson (Mekhi Phifer), Jilly Kitzinger (Lauren Ambrose ) and Oswald Danes (Bill Pullman).
Torchwood: Miracle Day is due to be broadcast BBC One in the UK and Starz in the US over the summer, in the break between this year's two series of Doctor Who.
More about Torchwood, John barrowman, russell t davies, BBC, Starz
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News