Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageEurope awaits Eurovision Song Contest 2011 Grand Final

By Mathew Wace Peck     May 14, 2011 in Entertainment
Tonight sees the final of the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest, which will be staged live in Germany’s Düsseldorf Arena to an estimated 120 million viewers.
In total, 25 nations will be competing, 20 of which secured their places during Tuesday's first semi-final and Thursday's second semi-final. The other five countries – France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the UK – have a guaranteed place by virtue of their funding of the event, though Germany would have qualified anyway, as it won the Contest, in Oslo, in 2010.
Lena, who is representing the host country, Germany, this year, actually won last year's event.
The full running order for the final is as follows:
1. Finland: Paradise Oskar – “Da Da Dam”
2. Bosnia & Herzegovina: Dino Merlin – “Love In Rewind”
3. Denmark: A Friend In London – “New Tomorrow”
4. Lithuania: Evelina Sašenko – “C'est Ma Vie”
5. Hungary: Kati Wolf – “What About My Dreams?”
6. Ireland: Jedward – “Lipstick”
7. Sweden: Eric Saade – “Popular”
8. Estonia: Getter Jaani – “Rockefeller Street”
9. Greece: Loucas Yiorkas, featuring Stereo Mike – “Watch My Dance”
10. Russia: Alexej Vorobjov – “Get You”
11. France: Amaury Vassili – “Sognu”
12. Italy: Raphael Gualazzi – “Madness Of Love”
13. Switzerland: Anna Rossinelli – “In Love For A While”
14. United Kingdom: Blue – “I Can”
15. Moldova: Zdob și Zdub – “So Lucky”
16. Germany: Lena – “Taken By A Stranger”
17. Romania: Hotel FM – “Change”
18. Austria: Nadine Beiler – “The Secret Is Love”
19. Azerbaijan: Ell/Nikki – “Running Scared”
20. Slovenia: Maja Keuc – “No One”
21. Iceland: Sjonni’s Friends – “Coming Home”
22. Spain: Lucía Pérez – “Que me quiten lo bailao”
23. Ukraine: Mika Newton – “Angel”
24. Serbia: Nina – “Čaroban”
25. Georgia: Eldrine – “One More Day”
Favourites to win
According to the Mirror, Amaury Vassili of France is still the favourite to win this year's Contest, while Ireland's Jedward twins are second favourite. The UK boy band Blue is currently placed fourth favourite after Azerbaijan's Ell/Nikki.
The full William Hill Eurovision Song Contest Betting is as follows: 6–4 France, 11–4 Ireland, 10–1 Azerbaijan, 10–1 UK, 12–1 Denmark, 14–1 Estonia, 16–1 Bosnia Herzegovina.
The Eurovision Song Contest has been running for 54 years – the first event having taken place on 24 May 1956. It is organised by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), the largest association of national broadcasters in the world. To qualify to enter the music competition, countries don't have to be within Europe but do have to be a member of the EBU.
The live broadcast of the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 will commence at 21:00 CET (Central European Time). Although 25 countries are being represented, the viewers in all 43 countries that entered this year’s competition will be able to cast their votes by televoting from the beginning of the show. The final can also be watched online, live, via’s ESCTVplayer.
More about Eurovision song contest, EBU, european broadcasting union, Düsseldorf Arena
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News