Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageCanadian federal leaders' televised debates to include one-on-one

By Andrew Moran     Apr 7, 2011 in Politics
Ottawa - After much discussion over 2008's Canadian federal election debates, the Broadcasting Consortium announced that next week's format for the two televised debates – the first in English and the other in French - will be one-on-one.
On Wednesday, the Broadcasting Consortium of CBC/Radio-Canada, CTV, Global and TVA announced in a news release that the 2011 federal party leaders’ debate will be held in Ottawa at the Government Conference Centre.
The English debate will take place on Tuesday April 12 from 7:00 p.m. EST to 9:00 p.m. EST and will be moderated by TVO’s Steve Paikin. The French debate will air on Thursday April 14 from 8:00 p.m. EST to 10:00 p.m. EST and will be co-moderated by TVA and Radio-Canada’s Anne-Marie Dussault and Paul Larocque.
In 2008, the federal leaders’ debate was a roundtable discussion and was labeled as being hoarse and took away from the issues actually being discussed. The 2008 debates consisted of then-Liberal leader Stephane Dion, Conservative Prime Minister Stephen Harper, New Democratic Party leader Jack Layton, Bloc Quebecois leader Gilles Duceppe and Green Party leader Elizabeth May.
This year’s debates will be quite different.
The two-hour debates will have six segments. Each segment will begin with a question from a Canadian voter. Following the question, there will be a six-minute one-on-one debate between two party leaders. Every segment will be wrapped up with a debate open to all four leaders.
The debates will be broadcasted on each consortium member’s station.
Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper (L) and NDP leader Jack Layton.
Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper (L) and NDP leader Jack Layton.
Next week’s debates will involve the Prime Minister, Liberal leader Michael Ignatieff, NDP leader Jack Layton and Bloc Quebecois leader Gilles Duceppe. The one-on-one debates will take place in the following order:
English debate:
1 - S. Harper - G. Duceppe
2 - M. Ignatieff - J. Layton
3 - S. Harper - M. Ignatieff
4 - G. Duceppe - J. Layton
5 - M. Ignatieff - G. Duceppe
6 - J. Layton - S. Harper
French debate:
1 - M. Ignatieff - G. Duceppe
2 - S. Harper - J. Layton
3 - M. Ignatieff - S. Harper
4 - G. Duceppe - J. Layton
5 - S. Harper - G. Duceppe
6 - J. Layton - M. Ignatieff
The English debate’s closing arguments will be started off by Layton, followed by Duceppe, Ignatieff and Harper. The French debate’s closing points will start off in the reverse order.
Podium positions for the English debate will be (from left to right): Harper, Layton, Ignatieff and Duceppe. The podium positions for the French debate will be: Layton, Duceppe, Harper and Ignatieff.
More about Canada Election 2011, Stephen Harper, Jack Layton, Michael Ignatieff, Gilles Duceppe
More news from
Latest News
Top News