Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

Daily Show, South Park, others win at the first Comedy Awards

By Jeff Cottrill     Mar 27, 2011 in Entertainment
New York - It's been well documented that comedy doesn't get a lot of respect from the Academy Awards. Comedy Central, MTV Networks and Don Mischer Productions have teamed together this year to create their own solution: The Comedy Awards.
The first annual Comedy Awards -- "the first multi-network event dedicated to the serious art of being funny", according to its website, -- had its debut last night at New York City's Hammerstein Ballroom. The honorees of the evening covered a broad range of yuksters across the American entertainment spectrum, from hit movies (The Other Guys) through sitcoms (30 Rock) to sketch-comedy institutions (Saturday Night Live). Even viral videos had their own category.
The ceremony will be broadcast in the U.S. on Comedy Central on April 10. It will be simulcast on VH1, Spike TV, CMT, Nick at Nite and other networks.
The major winners included The Other Guys as Best Comedy Film (beating fellow nominees Cyrus, Easy A, Get Him to the Greek and Kick-Ass) and Modern Family as Best Comedy [TV] Series (over 30 Rock, Eastbound & Down, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia and The Office). Zach Galifianakis won the Best Comedy Actor in Film award for his performance in Dinner for Schmucks, while 30 Rock creator and star Tina Fey was picked as Best Comedy Actress in Film for Date Night. Toy Story 3 was picked as Best Animated Comedy Film.
On the TV side, 30 Rock's Alec Baldwin and SNL's Kristen Wiig received the awards for Best Comedy Actor and Actress in Television. Best Late-Night Comedy Series went to long-running fake-news show The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, while South Park -- which begins its fifteenth season next month -- was honoured as Best Animated Comedy Series.
The Comedy Awards even has its own equivalents of the pre-announced "Lifetime Achievement" prizes of other awards shows. Comic legend Eddie Murphy received the Comedy Icon Award, and the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence went to veteran late-night host David Letterman.
Other nominated performers included Will Ferrell, Anne Hathaway, Steve Carell, Jane Lynch and even Helen Mirren.
The nominees had been chosen by the Comedy Awards' "Board of Directors", a who's who of American comedy royalty that includes veterans such as Don Rickles, Lily Tomlin, Joan Rivers and Billy Crystal, as well as current hot names such as Conan O'Brien, Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert.
The winners were picked by a voting body "comprised of professionals from the comedy community -- including producers, writers, performers, directors and stand-ups," according to
More about Comedy, Comedy central, Awards, Entertainment, Tina fey
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News