Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageBooker creates 'Best of Beryl (Bainbridge)' prize

By Lee Labuschagne     Feb 10, 2011 in Entertainment
The Booker Prize Foundation has created a special prize to honor the work of the much-loved novelist Dame Beryl Bainbridge, who was shortlisted five times for the Booker Prize, but never actually won.
In her honour, the Foundation has created a special prize, The Man Booker Best of Beryl, and asks the public to consider which of her five shortlisted novels deserves the accolade.
No author has ever been shortlisted as many times for the prize. Her shortlisted books were The Dressmaker (1973); The Bottle Factory Outing (1974); An Awfully Big Adventure (1990); Every Man for Himself (1996) and Master Georgie (1998) all of which are now published in paperback by Abacus.
Ion Trewin, Literary Director of the Man Booker Prizes, comments, "Dame Beryl was a very gracious non-winner and no Man Booker dinner was complete without her. She may have been the eternal Booker Bridesmaid but, with this special prize created in her honour, we are delighted to be able finally to crown her a Booker Bride by letting the public choose what they believe to be the best of her books."
The public are invited to vote via an online poll on the Man Booker website for their favourite of Dame Beryl's five shortlisted novels.
The winning title will be announced in mid April 2011.
More information:
More about Booker prize, Man booker prize, Beryl Bainbridge
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News